1998 Tamia – Tamia

Tamia is the self-titled debut studio album by Canadian recording artist Tamia. It was released on April 14, 1998 on Quincy Jones’s Qwest Records, while distribution was handled through Warner Bros. Recorded after the release of her Grammy Award-nominated collaborations with Jones and the single “Missing You”, her contribution to the soundtrack of the 1996 motion picture Set It Off, Tamia worked with a plethora of producers on her debut, including Jermaine Dupri, Tim & Bob, Mario Winans, J-Dub, Keith Crouch, and Christopher “Tricky” Stewart, many of which would become frequent producers on subsequent projects.


1  Imagination (Berry Gordy; Deke Richards; Fonce Mizell; Freddie Perren; Manuel Seal ) 03:34
2  So Into You (Bob Robinson; Lionel Richie; Ronald LaPread; Tamia; Tim Kelley ) 03:56
3  Never Gonna Let You Go (Artie Hoyle; Kenneth Hickson; Mario Winans ) 04:01
4  Falling For You (Al McKay; Gordon Chambers; Maurice White; Steven Jordan; Tamia; Teddy Turpin; Terrell Carter ) 05:11
5  Show Me Love (J-Dub; Paige Lackey ) 04:06
6  Rain On Me (Kenneth Hickson; Mario Winans; Tamia ) 04:22
7  Is That You (Jermaine Dupri; Manuel Seal ) 03:22
8  Who Do You Tell (Fred Zarr; Marc Nelson; Mark Coleman; Sherree Ford ) 04:20
9  Gonna Move On (John Jubu Smith; Keith Crouch; Tamia ) 05:08
10  This Time It’s Love (Christopher Stewart; Sean Hall; Tamia ) 05:52
11  Loving You Still (Daryl Simmons ) 05:09
12  Careless Whisper (Andrew Ridgeley; George Michael ) 05:12
13  You Put A Move On My Heart (Rod Temperton ) 06:12


1 Imagination

RapJermaine Dupri
Background VocalsManuel Seal

2 So Into You

Background VocalsMario Winans

3 Never Gonna Let You Go

Background VocalsMario Winans

4 Falling For You

Background VocalsGordon Chambers
Background VocalsTerrell Carter

5 Show Me Love


6 Rain On Me

All InstrumentsMario Winans
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
PianoBob Robinson
Background VocalsMario Winans

7 Is That You

Background VocalsJermaine Dupri

8 Who Do You Tell

BassRalph Stacey
DrumsSteven Meeder
Drums (programming)Daryl Simmons
GuitarMichael Thompson
KeyboardsDaryl Simmons
PianoDaryl Simmons
PercussionDaryl Simmons
Background VocalsMarc Nelson

9 Gonna Move On

All InstrumentsKeith Crouch
GuitarJohn Jubu Smith

10 This Time It’s Love

BassAlex Al
KeyboardsChristopher Stewart
ProgrammingChristopher Stewart

11 Loving You Still

BassRonnie Garrett
DrumsSteven Meeder
Drums (programming)Daryl Simmons
GuitarMichael Thompson
KeyboardsDaryl Simmons
Background VocalsChelle Davis
Background VocalsLiza Broome
Background VocalsPamela Cork
Background VocalsTanya Smith

12 Careless Whisper

SaxGerald Albright

13 You Put A Move On My Heart

BassNeil Stubenhaus
DrumsJR Robinson
Drums (programming)Erik Hanson
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsRod Temperton
ProgrammingErik Hanson
SaxFred Jackson
SasxJack Nimitz
SaxJeff Clayton
SaxPete Christlieb
SaxTom Scott
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TromboneCharlie Loper
TromboneGeorge Bohanon
TromboneReginald Young
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetJerry Hey
TrumpetOscar Brashear
TrumpetSnooky Young
TrumpetRaymond Lee Brown
Background VocalsAlex Brown
Background VocalsBridgette Bryant
Background VocalsSiedah Garrett

Liner Notes

Producer – Jermaine Dupri (Tracks 1, 7)
Producer – Bob Robinson, Tim Kelley (Track 2)
Producer – Mario Winans (Tracks 3, 6)
Producer – Stevie J (Track 4)
Producer – J-Dub (Track 5)
Producer – Keith Crouch (Track 9)
Producer – Chris Stewart (Track 10)
Producer – Daryl Simmons (Track 11)
Producer – Samuel Sapp (Track 12)
Producer – Quincy Jones (Track 13)
Co-producer – Manuel Seal (Tracks 1, 7)
Co-producer – Tim Shider (Track 12)
Producer (Executive) – Brenda Richie, Quincy Jones, Tamia
Producer (Executive Associate) – Jay Brown, Mark D Persaud
Producer (Executive Co Associate) – Ian Alexander
Creative Director – Elaine Henri, Kidada Jones
Arranged By – Keith Crouch (Track 9)
Arranged By – John Clayton, Rod Temperton (Track 13)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Gordon Chambers (Track 4)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Stevie J (Track 4)
Conductor – John Clayton (Track 13)
Coordinator – Constance Armstrong (Track 6)
Coordinator – Ivy Skoff (Tracks 8, 11)
Engineer – Phil Tan (Track 1)
Engineer – Bob Brown (Track 4)
Engineer – Tom Brown (Track 12)
Engineer (Assistant) – Kevin Lively (Track 3)
Engineer (Assistant) – Nick Marshal (Track 4)
Mastered By – Herb Powers Jr
Mixed By – Phil Tan (Tracks 1, 7)
Mixed By – Dave Way (Track 2)
Mixed By – Humberto Gatica (Tracks 3, 10)
Mixed By – Bob Brown, Stevie J (Track 4)
Mixed By – Paul D Allen (Tracks 5, 6)
Mixed By – Jermaine Dupri (Track 7)
Mixed By – Jon Gass (Tracks 8, 11)
Mixed By – Booker T Jones III (Track 9)
Mixed By – Rob Chiarelli (Track 12)
Mixed By – Bruce Swedien (Track 13)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Chris Brooks (Track 3)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Joe Brown (Track 9)
Recorded By – Stephanie Gylden (Track 2)
Recorded By – Paul D Allen (Tracks 3, 5, 6)
Recorded By – Phil Tan (Track 7)
Recorded By – Thom Kidd (Tracks 8, 11)
Recorded By – Keith Crouch (Track 9)
Recorded By – Chris Stewart, Mauricio Iragorri (Track 10)
Recorded By – Francis Buckley (Track 13)
Recorded By (Assistant) – Stephanie Gylden (Tracks 6, 13)
Recorded By (Assistant) – Kevin Lively (Tracks 8, 11)
Sequenced By – Chris Stewart (Track 10)

Design – Wilson Design Group
Photography – Sam Jones

Phonographic Copyright (p) Qwest Records
Copyright (c) Qwest Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) WEA International Inc
Copyright (c) WEA International Inc