1981 Dan Hartman – It Hurts To Be In Love

It Hurts To Be In Love is the fourth studio album from American singer and songwriter Dan Hartman, released by Blue Sky in 1981. It was produced by Hartman and mixed by Neil Dorfsman

After the success of Hartman’s two disco-oriented albums Instant Replay (1978) and Relight My Fire (1979), Hartman changed musical direction with It Hurts to Be in Love. Returning to the sound of his 1976 album Images, the album moved away from disco to a more melodic pop-rock sound. The album was recorded at the Schoolhouse (Hartman’s own home studio in Connecticut), mixed at Power Station and mastered at Sterling Sound.

It Hurts to Be in Love failed to make a chart appearance in the US, although the three singles from it saw some chart action. The first, “Heaven in Your Arms”, reached No. 86 on the Billboard Hot 100. “It Hurts to Be in Love”, a cover of the 1964 hit by Gene Pitney, was the second single, which peaked at No. 72 on the Billboard Hot 100, and No. 48 on the Dance Music/Club Play chart. The third and final single, “All I Need”, reached No. 10 on the Bubbling Under the Hot 100 chart. It also peaked at No. 41 on the Billboard Hot Adult Contemporary Tracks chart.

In a Blue Sky press release, Hartman spoke of the album: “I felt it was time to do the things that were truly me. This music is closer to me because it has more romantic sensitivity than I’ve allowed myself to show in past productions. I’m really pouring it all out. I guess you could say there’s more Dan Hartman in there than any other record I’ve done. My music is spontaneous and provides an outlet for emotional release and expression, while my studio allows me to write, arrange and record my own songs within that same space. The result is music that comes straight from my heart – I can capture more feeling that way.”


It Hurts To Be In Love (Howard Greenfield; Helen Miller) 02:51
2  Heaven In Your Arms (Dan Hartman) 03:37
3  My Desire (Dan Hartman; Morgan Ames) 03:44
4  Forever In A Moment (Dan Hartman) 03:17
5  All I Need (Dan Hartman) 04:12
6  Pick It Up (Dan Hartman) 03:07
7  I Still Remember (Dan Hartman) 03:36
8  Positive Forces (Dan Hartman) 03:24
9  Letter In A Song (Dan Hartman) 03:50
10  Hello Again (Dan Hartman) 04:29


BassJohn Pierce
DrumsArt Wood
GuitarErik Cartwright
KeyboardsDan Hartman
SynthesizerJeff Bova
VocalsDan Hartman

Other Musicians

1 It Hurts To Be In Love

VocalsBlanche Napoleon

2 Heaven In Your Arms

All Instruments (Except Drums And Synthesizer)Dan Hartman

8 Positive Forces

All Instruments (Except Drums And Synthesizer)Dan Hartman

Liner Notes

Producer – Dan Hartman
Coordinator – Steve Paul, Teddy Slatus
Engineer (Assistant, Mixing) – Barry Bongiovi, Dave Greenberg, James Farber, Raymond Willard
Mastered By – Ted Jensen
Mixed By – Neil Dorfsman
Recorded By – Dan Hartman, Jeff Jones

Photography By – Jerry King Musser

Mastered At Sterling Sound
Mixed At Power Station
Recorded At The Schoolhouse
Phonographic Copyright (p) CBS Inc
Copyright (c) CBS Inc