1997 Hanson – Middle Of Nowhere

Middle Of Nowhere is the debut studio album by American pop rock group Hanson, and the first to be released on a major label, which was Polygram Records and Mercury Records. Released in 1997, it features slicker studio production compared to their previous indie efforts Boomerang and MMMBop. The band members were between the ages of 11 and 16 when it was released. “Yearbook”, one of the album’s more dramatic songs, was not performed live until the recording of Middle of Nowhere Acoustic on May 5, 2007.


1  Thinking Of You (Isaac Hanson; Taylor Hanson; Zac Hanson) 03:13
2  MMMBop (Isaac Hanson; Taylor Hanson; Zac Hanson) 03:53
3  Weird (Desmond Child) 04:05
4  Speechless (Stephen Lironi) 04:20
5  Where’s The Love (Mark Hudson; Sander Salover) 03:53
6  Yearbook (Ellen Shipley) 05:29
7  Look At You (Stephen Lironi) 04:28
8  Lucy (Mark Hudson) 03:35
9  I Will Come To You (Barry Mann; Cynthia Weill) 04:08
10  A Minute Without You (Mark Hudson) 03:55
11  Madeline (Clif Magness) 04:13
12  With You In Your Dreams (Isaac Hanson; Taylor Hanson; Zac Hanson) 03:56
13  Man From Milwaukee (Isaac Hanson; Taylor Hanson; Zac Hanson) 03:38

The Band

DrumsZac Hanson
GuitarIsaac Hanson
KeyboardsTaylor Hanson
PianoIsaac Hanson
VocalsIsaac Hanson
VocalsZac Hanson
VocalsTaylor Hanson

Other Musicians

BassStephen Lironi
BassNeil Stubenhaus
BassAbraham Laboriel Sr
DrumsAbe Laboriel Jr
DrumsGed Lynch
GuitarStephen Lironi
Pedal Steel GuitarBJ Cole
KeyboardsStephen Lironi
KeyboardsSandy Stein
KeyboardsWilliam South
ProgrammingStephen Lironi
HarmonicaMark Hudson
SaxRonald McCarley
TrumpetDoug Trantow
TablasPandit Dinesh
PercussionStephen Lironi
PercussionMike Fisher
PercussionMike Shawcross
PercussionMichito Sanchez
PercussionGed Lynch


Upright Bass – Dave Stone
Cello – Larry Corbett, Steve Richards
Viola – Carole Mukogawa
Violin – Endre Granat, John Wittenberg, Murray Adler, Peter Kent

Liner Notes

Producer – The Dust Brothers (Tracks 1, 2)
Producer – Stephen Lironi (Tracks 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13)
Producer (Additiona) – Stephen Lironi (Tracks 1, 2)
Producer (Executive) – Steve Greenberg
Coordinator – Jillian Bailey, Susan Saunders
Arranged By (Strings) – David Campbell
Conductor (Strings) – David Campbell
Engineer – Niven Garland
Engineer (Second) – Doug Tranton, Ed Chadwick, Femio Hernandez, Rudy Hausermann
Engineer (Vocal) – Teresa Caffin
Mastered By – Ted Jensen
Mixed By – Tom Lord-Alge
Music Consultant – Roger Love (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13)
Music Consultant – Mark Hudson (Tracks 3, 5)
Music Consultant – Barry Mann (Tracks 9)
Music Consultant – Clif Magness (Tracks 11)

Art Direction – Margery Greenspan
Design – Rick Patrick
Photography By – Marina Chavez

Mastered At Sterling Sound
Mixed At South Beach Studios
Recorded At Music Grinder Studios
Recorded At LAFX Studios
Recorded At Scream Studios
Recorded At Dyad Studio
Recorded At PCP Labs
Recorded At Blue Iron Gate Studios
Recorded At Entourage Studios
Recorded At Crescent Moon Studios
Recorded At Mayfair Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p)Mercury Records
Copyright (c) Mercury Records