1995 Stevie Wonder – Conversation Peace

Conversation Peace is the 22nd album released by American musician Stevie Wonder, on the Motown label in 1995. The album was Wonder’s first full-length non-soundtrack studio album since 1987’s Characters. This album yielded the hits “For Your Love” (a Grammy winner for Wonder for Best R&B Male Vocal Performance) and the reggae-flavored “Tomorrow Robins Will Sing”. This album also saw Wonder reuniting with Robert Margouleff, who assisted during Wonder’s “classic period” from 1972 to 1974.

Wonder wrote about 40 songs in 1993 after being invited to stay for six weeks in Ghana by President Jerry John Rawlings. A number of these songs were eventually shaped into album form. Motown announced in August 1993 that Conversation Peace would be released later that year; however, Wonder continued to work on the album through 1994 until its release in March 1995, when Vibe magazine reported that the album had been in development “off and on for at least the past four” years. A circulating outtake from these sessions, “Ms and Mr Little Ones”, was later released on Natural Wonder


1  Rain Your Love Down (Stevie Wonder) 06:08
2  Edge Of Eternity (Stevie Wonder) 06:03
3  Taboo To Love (Stevie Wonder) 04:24
4  Take The Time Out (Stevie Wonder) 05:05
5  I’m New (Stevie Wonder) 05:41
6  My Love Is With You (Stevie Wonder) 06:15
7  Treat Myself (Stevie Wonder; Stephanie Andrews) 04:55
8  Tomorrow Robins Will Sing (Stevie Wonder; Edley Shine) 04:45
9  Sensuous Whisper (Stevie Wonder) 05:47
10  For Your Love (Stevie Wonder) 05:00
11  Cold Chill (Stevie Wonder) 06:53
12  Sorry (Stevie Wonder) 06:14
13  Conversation Peace (Stevie Wonder) 06:41


1 Rain Your Love Down

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
VocalsStevie Wonder

2 Edge Of Eternity

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
SaxGary Bias
SaxJohn Stephens
SaxErnie Fields Jr
SaxRaymond Lee Brown
TrumpetFernando Pullum
TrumpetJorge Arciniega
TrumpetNolan Smith
TrumpetRonald Brown
PercussionBill Summers
PercussionLenny Castro
PercussionMunyungo Jackson
Background VocalsKimberly Brewer
VocalsStevie Wonder

3 Taboo To Love

All Other InstrumentsStevie Wonder
VocalsStevie Wonder

4 Take The Time Out

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Background VocalsLadysmith Black Mambazo
VocalsStevie Wonder

5 I’m New

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Background VocalsDeniece Williams
Background VocalsTake 6
VocalsStevie Wonder

6 My Love Is With You

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
GuitarGreg Moore
Background VocalsAisha Morris
Background VocalsBobbette Jamerson
Background VocalsDaryl Coley
Background VocalsDorian Holley
Background VocalsKenneth Harris
Background VocalsKimberly Brewer
Background VocalsSyreeta Wright
VocalsStevie Wonder

7 Treat Myself

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Background VocalsKeith John
Background VocalsThe Winans
VocalsStevie Wonder

8 Tomorrow Robins Will Sing

All Other InstrumentsStevie Wonder
PercussionMunyungo Jackson
VocalsStevie Wonder

9 Sensuous Whisper

All Other InstrumentsStevie Wonder
SaxBranford Marsalis
TrumpetTerence Blanchard
Background VocalsAnita Baker
VocalsStevie Wonder

10 For Your Love

All Other InstrumentsStevie Wonder
BassNathan Watts
VocalsStevie Wonder

11 Cold Chill

All Other InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Guitar (solo)Ben Bridges
GuitarWah Wah Watson
Background VocalsKimberly Brewer
Background VocalsJazzyfatnastees
VocalsStevie Wonder

12 Sorry

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Background VocalsDella Miles
Background VocalsJulie Delgado
Background VocalsKatrina Harper
Background VocalsKatrina Perkins
Background VocalsMarva King
Background VocalsMelody McCully
VocalsStevie Wonder

13 Conversation Peace

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Background VocalsSounds Of Blackness
VocalsStevie Wonder

Liner Notes

Producer – Stevie Wonder
Co-producer – Derrick Perkins, Nathan Watts, Vaughn Halyard
Arranged By – Stevie Wonder
Arranged By (Background Vocals) – Stevie Wonder, Marvin Winans (Track 7)
Arranged By (Strings) – Stevie Wonder, Henry Panion (Track 3)
Concertmaster – Charles Veal (Track 3)
Conductor – Ollie E Brown (Track 6)
Engineer – Steve Van Arden (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13)
Mixed By – Steve Van Arden (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13)
Mixed By – Brant Biles, Robert Margouleff (Tracks 6, 12)
Orchestration – Henry Panion (Track 3)

Design – Shauna Woods
Photography By – Todd Gray

Mixed At Wonderland Studios, Los Angeles
Recorded At Wonderland Studios, Los Angeles
Recorded At The Hit Factory
Recorded At Pearl Sound Studios
Recorded At Paisley Park Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) Motown Record Company, L.P.
Copyright (c) Motown Record Company, L.P.