1989 Nona Hendryx – Skindiver

Skin Diver is the sixth solo album by Nona Hendryx, released in 1989 on Private Music.

Nona Hendryx (born October 9, 1944), is an American vocalist, record producer, songwriter, musician, author, and actress.

Hendryx is known for her work as a solo artist as well as for being one-third of the trio Labelle, who had a hit with “Lady Marmalade.” Her music has ranged from soul, funk, and R&B to hard rock, new wave, and new-age.


1  Off the Coast of Love (Nona Hendryx) 04:33
2  Women Who Fly (Nona Hendryx) 05:13
3  No Emotion (Nona Hendryx) 05:30
4  Love Is Kind (Nona Hendryx) 03:39
5  Tears (Nona Hendryx) 04:34
6  Skin Diver (Nona Hendryx) 05:09
7  6th Sense (Nona Hendryx) 06:01
8  Through The Wire (Nona Hendryx) 04:45
9  Interior Voices (Nona Hendryx) 04:49
10  New Desire (Nona Hendryx) 05:07


BassJohn Pierce
GuitarMichael Thompson
GuitarRusty Anderson
SynthesizerNona Hendryx
FlugelhornNolan Smith
PercussionKurt Wortman
VocalsNona Hendryx

Other Musicians

2 Women Who Fly

Background VocalsBJ Nelson
Background VocalsKate McGunnigle

3 No Emotion

Background VocalsCarole Pope

8 Through The Wire

PianoNona Hendryx
PianoRaymond Jones

9 Interior Voices

Background VocalsCarole Lombard

Liner Notes

Producer – Nona Hendryx
Co-producer – Peter Baumann
Engineer – Jerry Steckling
Engineer (Assistant) – Craig Johnson, Mark Hagen
Mastered By – Brian Gardner

Cover Art – Patti Heid
Photography – Bob Gruen

Mastered At Bernie Grundman Mastering
Recorded At Westlake Studios
Recorded At –ohn Tesh Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) Private, Inc
Copyright (c) Private, Inc