1980 Ron Carter – Empire Jazz

Empire Jazz is an album by bassist Ron Carter featuring jazz interpretations of five of John Williams’ themes from The Empire Strikes Back which was recorded in 1980 and released on the RSO label.


1  The Imperial March (Darth Vader’s Theme) (John Williams) 08:33
2  The Asteroid Field (John Williams) 09:07
3  Han Solo and the Princess (Love Theme) (John Williams) 08:08
4  Lando’s Palace (John Williams) 07:07
5  Yoda’s Theme (John Williams) 05:26


BassRon Carter
DrumsBilly Cobham
GuitarJay Berliner
Acoustic GuitarJay Berliner
PianoBob James
FlugelhornJoe Shepley
FlugelhornJon Faddis
FluteHubert Laws
SaxFrank Wess
TromboneEddie Bert
TrumpetJoe Shepley
TrumpetJon Faddis
PercussionRalph MacDonald

Liner Notes

Producer– Ron Carter
Producer (Executive) – Bill Oakes
Arranged By – Ron Carter
Engineer – Clyde Kaplan, Tony May

Art Direction – Glenn Ross
Design – George Corsillo, Gribbitt!, Tim Bryant
Illustration – Jeff Wack

Mastered At – Kendun Recorders
Recorded At – Aura Recording Studios, New York City
Phonographic Copyright (p) – RSO Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Lucasfilm Ltd.