1993 Mick Jagger – Wandering Spirit

Wandering Spirit is the third solo album by Mick Jagger. Released in 1993, it was his only solo album release of the 1990s.

Following The Rolling Stones’ Steel Wheels (1989), Jagger began writing new material for what would become Wandering Spirit. In January 1992, after landing Rick Rubin as co-producer, Jagger recorded the album in Los Angeles over seven months until September 1992, recording simultaneously as Keith Richards was making Main Offender.

Jagger kept the celebrity guests to a minimum on Wandering Spirit, only having Lenny Kravitz as a vocalist on his cover of Bill Withers’ “Use Me” and bassist Flea from Red Hot Chili Peppers on three tracks.

Following the end of The Rolling Stones’ Sony Music contract and their signing to Virgin Records, Jagger elected to sign with Atlantic Records (which had signed the Stones in the 1970s) to distribute what would be his only album with the label.


1  Wired All Night (Mick Jagger) 04:06
2  Sweet Thing (Mick Jagger) 04:19
3  Out Of Focus (Mick Jagger) 04:35
Don’t Tear Me Up (Mick Jagger) 04:12
5  Put Me In The Trash (Mick Jagger; Jimmy Rip) 03:35
6  Use Me (Bill Withers) 04:28
7  Evening Gown (Mick Jagger) 03:32
8  Mother Of A Man (Mick Jagger) 04:17
9  Think (Lowman Pauling) 02:59
10  Wandering Spirit (Mick Jagger; Jimmy Rip) 04:18
11  Hang On To Me Tonght (Mick Jagger) 04:36
12  I’ve Been Lonely For So Long (Jerry Weaver; Posie Knight) 03:29
13  Angel In My Heart (Mick Jagger) 03:28
14  Handsome Molly (Traditional) 02:06


GuitarBrendan O’Brien
GuitarFrank Simes
GuitarJimmy Rip
GuitarMick Jagger
Pedal Steel GuitarJay Dee Maness
ClavinetBilly Preston
ClavinetMick Jagger
HarpsichordMatt Clifford
OrganBenmont Tench
OrganBilly Preston
PianoBenmont Tench
PianoBilly Preston
SynthesizerDavid Bianco
HarmonicaMick Jagger
SaxCourtney Pine
FiddleRobin McKidd
PercussionLenny Castro
PercussionJimmy Rip
PercussionMick Jagger
Background VocalsLenny Kravitz
Background VocalsJeff Pescetto
Background VocalsLynn Davis
Background VocalsSweet Singing Cava-Leers
Background VocalsJean McClain
VocalsMick Jagger

Other Musicians

1 Wired All Night

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

2 Sweet Thing

BassDoug Wimbish
DrumsCurt Bisquera

3 Out Of Focus

DrumsCurt Bisquera

4 Don’t Tear Me Up

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

5 Put Me In The Trash

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

6 Use Me

DrumsCurt Bisquera

7 Evening Gown

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsJim Keltner

8 Mother Of A Man

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

9 Think

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

10 Wandering Spirit

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

11 Hang On To Me Tonght

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsCurt Bisquera

12 I’ve Been Lonely For So Long


13 Angel In My Heart

BassJohn Pierce

14 Handsome Molly

BassJohn Pierce

Liner Notes

Producer – Mick Jagger, Rick Rubin
Arranged By – Jimmy Rip
Arranged By – Mick Jagger (Track 14)
Arranged By (Strings) – Matt Clifford
Conductor – Matt Clifford
Coordinator – Janice Crotch, Arnold Dunn
Engineer – David Bianco (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12)
Engineer – Manu Guiot (Track 13)
Engineer – John Brough (Track 14)
Engineer [Assistant] – Andy Bradfield, Jim Champagne, Peter Lewis, Steve Holroyd, Steve Musters
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen
Mixed By – David Bianco
Technician (Assistant) – Dave Rouze

Art Direction – Melanie Nissen
Design – Richard Bates
Design (Assistant) – Valerie Wagner
Photography By – Annie Leibovitz

Mastered At Precision Mastering
Phonographic Copyright (p) Warner Music
Copyright (c) Promotone B.V