1977 David Sanborn Band – Promise Me The Moon

Promise Me The Moon is an album by The David Sanborn Band, released in December 1977 through Warner Bros. Records and reissued by Wounded Bird Records many years later. The album reached number 27 on Billboard’s Jazz Albums chart.


1  Promise Me The Moon (Danny Kortchmar) 04:01
2  Benjamin (James Taylor) 01:33
3  Stranger’s Arms (Danny Kortchmar) 04:21
4  Heart Lake (Mike Egan) 05:21
5  The Rev (Hiram Bullock) 03:55
6  We Fool Ourselves (Hiram Bullock) 05:14
7  Morning Salsa (Rosalinda De Leon; Herb Bushler) 06:06
8  The Legend Of Cheops (Victor Lewis) 06:35


BassMark Egan
DrumsVictor Lewis
GuitarHiram Bullock
KeyboardsRosalinda De Leon
LyriconDavid Sanborn
SaxDavid Sanborn
PercussionJumma Santos
Background VocalsChristine Faith
Background VocalsHamish Stuart
Background VocalsKat McCord
Background VocalsLani Groves

Other Musicians

1 Promise Me The Moon

VocalsHiram Bullock

2 Benjamin

Electric PianoDale Oehler

3 Stranger’s Arms

VocalsDavid Sanborn

6 We Fool Ourselves

VocalsHiram Bullock

Liner Notes

Producer – Dale Oehler
Engineer (Assistant) – Jack Nuber
Mastered By – Bernie Grundman
Mixed By – Hank Cicalo (Tracks 2, 3, 4)
Recorded By – Alex Sadkin

Artwork – Loy, Ritch Barnes, Stephen Pettigrew
Typography – Patsy Norvell

Mastered At A&M Studios
Mixed At A&M Studios
Recorded At Criteria Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) Warner Bros. Records Inc
Copyright (c) Warner Bros. Records Inc