1986 Crowded House – Crowded House

Crowded House is the debut album by the band Crowded House. It was released in August 1986 and produced by Mitchell Froom. The album includes the hit singles “Don’t Dream It’s Over”, “Something So Strong”, “Mean to Me”, “World Where You Live” and “Now We’re Getting Somewhere”.

At the 1986 Countdown Australian Music Awards the album won Best Debut Album


1  Mean To Me (Neil Finn) 03:16
2  World Where You Live (Neil Finn) 03:05
3  Now We’re Getting Somewhere (Neil Finn) 04:05
Don’t Dream It’s Over (Neil Finn) 03:56
5  Love You ‘Til The Day I Die (Neil Finn) 03:32
6  Something So Strong (Neil Finn; Mitchell Froom) 02:51
7  Hole In The River (Neil Finn; Eddie Rayner) 03:59
8  Can’t Carry On (Neil Finn) 03:57
9  I Walk Away (Neil Finn) 03:07
10  Tombstone (Neil Finn) 03:30
11  That’s What I Call Love (Neil Finn; Paul Hester) 03:38


BassNick Seymour
DrumsPaul Hester
GuitarNeil Finn
GuitarTim Pierce
KeyboardsMitchell Froom
PianoNeil Finn
HornsThe Heart Attack Horns
PercussionJorge Bermudez
Background VocalsPaul Hester
Background VocalsAndy Milton
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
Background VocalsJoe Satriani
Background VocalsNoel Crombie
VocalsNeil Finn

Other Musicians

2 World Where You Live

BassJerry Scheff
DrumsJim Keltner

3 Now We’re Getting Somewhere

Guitar (solo)Tim Pierce

Liner Notes

Producer – Mitchell Froom (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10)
Producer – Eddie Rayner, Neil Finn (Track 8)
Engineer – Dennis Kirk, Tchad Blake
Engineer (Assistant) – Glen Holguin, Steve Himelfarb
Mastered By – Wally Traugott
Mixed By – Michael Frondelli
Recorded By (Rhythm) – Larry Hirsch

Art Direction – John O’Brien
Design, Painting – Nick Seymour
Photography By – Dennis Keeley

Mixed At Studio 55, Los Angeles
Recorded At Capitol Studios
Recorded At Paradise Studios
Recorded At The Sound Factory
Phonographic Copyright (p) Capitol Records, Inc
Copyright (c) Capitol Records, Inc