1974 Barry McGuire – Lighten Up

Lighten Up is the seventh album by Barry McGuire, released in 1974.

Barry McGuire (born October 15, 1935) is an American singer-songwriter. He is known for the hit song “Eve of Destruction”, and later as a pioneering singer and songwriter of contemporary Christian music.


1  Don’t Blame God-II Chronicles 7 04:43
1a  Eve Of Destruction (PF Sloan)
1b  Don’t Blame God (Barry McGuire)
1c  II Chronicles (Barry McGuire)
2  Callin’ Me Home (Barry McGuire) 03:50
3  Pay The Piper (Barry McGuire) 03:17
4  When The Mists Have Rolled Away (Traditional; Jim Patton; Barry McGuire) 03:10
5 Walk In The Sunshine (Annie Herring; Buck Herring) 02:53
6  Hey! World (Barry McGuire) 03:20
7  You’ve Heard His Voice (Art Podell; Walter Schorr) 04:06
8 Happy Road (Barry McGuire) 03:31
9  How Many Times (Barry McGuire) 04:38
10  Anyone But Jesus (Andy Davis) 04:16



BassLeland Sklar
DrumsDavid Kemper
GuitarMike Deasy
BanjoMike Deasy
ClavinetLarry Knechtel
KeyboardsMichael Omartian
OrganLarry Knechtel
PianoLarry Knechtel
HarmonicaBen Benay
Background Vocals2nd Chapter Of Acts
VocalsBarry McGuire

Other Musicians

1b Don’t Blame God

BassJoe Osborn
DrumsJim Gordon
GuitarBen Benay
BanjoBen Benay
PianoMichael Omartian

4 When The Mist Has Rolled Away

BassMichael Bean
GuitarDean Parks
BanjoDean Parks
PianoDanny Timms

Liner Notes

Producer – Buck Herring
Arranged By (Horn) – Mike Melvoin
Engineer – Buck Herring

Photography By – Wally Duguid

Mastered At Artisan Sound Recorders
Recorded At Puget Sound Recorders
Recorded At Sunwest Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) Word, Inc
Copyright (c) Word, Inc