1990 Magnum – Goodnight L.A.

Goodnight L.A. is the eighth studio album by the English rock band Magnum, released in 1990 by Polydor.

Most of the material was already written and arranged, at least in demo form, and was taken to Los Angeles and Vancouver to find an American producer. Keith Olsen was suggested because of the success of his work on Whitesnake’s 1987. Tony Clarkin, the band’s guitarist and usually the sole songwriter, then invited co-writers such as Russ Ballard, Jim Vallance and David Cassidy’s wife Sue Shifrin to collaborate on songwriting. Other songs called “The Rock” and “On That Day” were retitled or dropped. “Come Back Running” was recorded as a demo version, but it was never released. An additional title, written by Ballard and Clarkin, was published around this time called “Dancing With The Devil”; if this song was recorded, it has yet to be released.


Rockin’ Chair (Russ Ballard; Tony Clarkin) 04:09
2  Mama (Tony Clarkin) 04:34
3  Only A Memory (Tony Clarkin) 07:04
4  Reckless Man (Tony Clarkin) 03:11
5  Matter Of Survival (Russ Ballard; Tony Clarkin) 04:19
6  What Kind Of Love Is This (Jim Vallance; Tony Clarkin) 04:35
7  Heartbroke & Busted (Tony Clarkin) 03:37
8  Shoot (Tony Clarkin) 03:34
9  No Way Out (Russ Ballard; Tony Clarkin) 03:59
10  Cry For You (Sue Shifrin; Tony Clarkin) 03:57
11  Born To Be King (Tony Clarkin) 05:33


BassWally Lowe
DrumsMickey Barker
GuitarTony Clarkin
KeyboardsMark Stanway
ProgrammingJim Crichton
ProgrammingMark Stanway
SaxDeric Dyer
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsWally Lowe
Background VocalsTony Clarkin
Background VocalsMichael Sadler
Background VocalsTommy Funderburk
VocalsBob Catley

Liner Notes

Producer – Keith Olsen
Arranged By – Keith Olsen, Magnum
Arranged By (Background Vocals) – Keith Olsen
Engineer – Keith Olsen
Engineer (Assistant) – Shay Baby
Mastered By – Greg Fulginiti

Cover – Hugh Syme
Photography – John Scarpati

Mastered At Artisan Sound Recorders
Mixed At Goodnight LA Studios
Recorded At Goodnight LA Studios
Phonographic Copyright Time Records Ltd
Copyright Polydor Ltd