1972 Little Richard – Second Coming

The Second Coming was Little Richard‘s third album for Reprise Records, and saw him reunited with Robert “Bumps” Blackwell from his Specialty days, with them co-writing the majority of the album together. The concept was to unite the best rock studio musicians of the ’50s with the best rock studio musicians of the ’70s. Many fans were disappointed in the material and in the over-syncopated, over-produced tracks. The album again failed to chart.


1  Mockingbird Sally (Little Richard) 03:41
2  Second Line (Little Richard; Robert Blackwell) 04:50
3  It Ain’t What You Do, It’s The Way How You Do It (Little Richard; Pete Kleinman) 02:45
4  The Saints (Robert Blackwell) 05:03
5  Nuki Suki (Bill Hemmons) 05:32
6  Rockin’ Rockin’ Boogie (Little Richard; Seabrun Hunter) 05:29
7  Prophet Of Peace (Little Richard) 03:19
8  Thomasine (Little Richard; Maybelle Jackson) 03:11
9  Sanctified, Satisfied Toe-Tapper (Little Richard) 07:12



BassChuck Rainey
DrumsEarl Palmer
GuitarAdolph Jacobs
GuitarDavid T Walker
GuitarGeorge Davis
GuitarMike Deasy
Pedal Steel GuitarPete Kleinow
Electric PianoLittle Richard
ClavichordLittle Richard
PianoLittle Richard
SaxJim Horn
SaxBill Hemmons
SaxLee Allen
VocalsLittle Richard

Liner Notes

Producer – Little Richard, Robert Blackwell
Arranged By – Little Richard, Robert Blackwell

Art Direction – Ed Thrasher
Cover Art– Dave Willardson
Design – John And Barbara Casado
Photography – Ed Caraeff

Phonographic Copyright (p) Warner Bros. Records Inc
Copyright (c) Warner Bros. Records Inc