1975 David Ruffin – Who I Am

Who I Am is a 1975 album from the former Temptations singer, David Ruffin. Recorded by Van McCoy who produced and arranged the album in Media Sound Studios, New York City. It provided Ruffin with the biggest hit of his solo career, “Walk Away From Love”.


1  Who I Am (Charles Kipps) 04:05
2  It Takes All Kinds Of People To Make A World (Joe Cobb; Van McCoy) 04:27
Walk Away From Love (Charles Kipps) 05:31
4  I’ve Got Nothing But Time (Van McCoy) 03:26
5  The Finger Pointers (Joe Cobb; Van McCoy) 03:29
6  Wild Honey (Joe Cobb; Van McCoy) 04:48
Heavy Love (Joe Cobb; Van McCoy) 04:54
8  Statue Of A Fool (David Ruffin) 04:28
9  Love Can Be Hazardous To Your Health (Jesse Boyce) 05:01


BassGordon Edwards
DrumsSteve Gadd
GuitarEric Gale
GuitarHugh McCracken
GuitarJohn Tropea
PianoPaul Griffin
PianoRichard Tee
PianoVan McCoy
SynthesizerKen Bichel
HornsBernie Glow
HornsMarvin Stamm
HornsMel Davis
HornsMickey Gravine
HornsPaul Faulise
HornsRobert Alexander
HornsSonny Russo
HornsUrbie Green
PercussionArthur Jenkins
PercussionDave Carey
PercussionGeorge Devens
Background VocalsAlbert Bailey
Background VocalsBrenda Hilliard
Background VocalsDiane Destry
VocalsDavid Ruffin


Strings – Alfred Brown, Cathy Keinke, Emanuel Vardi, Gene Orloff, Guy Lumia, Harry Lookofsky, Jesse Levy, Joe Malin, Julien Barber, Julius Schacter, Kermit Moore, Max Pollikoff, Richard Sortomme, Selwart Clarke

Liner Notes

Producer – Van McCoy
Arranged By– Van McCoy
Conductor – Van McCoy
Engineer – Alan Varner
Mastered By – Jose Rodriguez

Art Direction – Frank Mulvey
Photography By – Norman Seeff

Recorded At Mediasound
Phonographic Copyright (p) Motown Record Corporation
Copyright (c) Motown Record Corporation
Pressed By RCA Records Pressing Plant, Hollywood