1980 Jackson Browne – Hold Out

Hold Out is the sixth album by American singer-songwriter Jackson Browne, released in 1980. Although critically the album has not been as well received as other Browne recordings, it remains his only album to date to reach number 1 on the Billboard chart.

The song “Of Missing Persons” was written for Inara George, the daughter of Lowell George (formerly of the band Little Feat), a songwriting collaborator and longtime friend of Jackson Browne’s who died a year prior to the release of Hold Out. The phrase “of missing persons” was derived from a line in a Little Feat song, “Long Distance Love”.

The album was certified as a Gold and Platinum record in 1980 by the RIAA. It reached Multi-platinum in 2001


1  Disco Apocalypse (Jackson Browne) 05:14
2  Hold Out (Jackson Browne) 05:50
That Girl Could Sing (Jackson Browne) 04:39
Boulevard (Jackson Browne) 03:24
5  Of Missing Persons (Jackson Browne) 06:37
6  Call It A Loan (Jackson Browne; David Lindley) 04:52
7  Hold On Hold Out (Jackson Browne; Craig Doerge) 08:06


BassBob Glaub
DrumsRuss Kunkel
GuitarJackson Browne
GuitarDavid Lindley
Lap SteelDavid Lindley
Fender RhodesCraig Doerge
OrganCraig Doerge
PianoJackson Browne
SynthesizerCraig Doerge
WurlitzerCraig Doerge
Background VocalsDoug Haywood
Background VocalsRosemary Butler
VocalsJackson Browne

Other Musicians

1 Disco Apocalypse

OrganBill Payne

2 Hold Out

OrganBill Payne

3 That Girl Could Sing

HiHAtRick Marotta
Tom TomRick Marotta

4 Boulevard

DrumsRick Marotta

5 Of Missing Persons

OrganBill Payne

7 Hold On Hold Out

PianoCraig Doerge
SynthesizerBill Payne

Liner Notes

Producer – Greg Ladanyi, Jackson Browne
Engineer (Assistant) – Brent Averill, George Ybarra, James Ledner, Jim Nipar, Karen Siegel, Niko Bolas, Serge Reyes
Mastered By – Doug Sax
Recorded By – Greg Ladanyi

Photography By – Jimmy Wachtel

Mastered At The Mastering Lab
Mixed At Record One, Los Angeles
Recorded At The Sound Factory, Los Angeles
Recorded At Record One, Los Angeles
Phonographic Copyright (p) Asylum Records
Copyright (c) Asylum Records