1979 Billy Preston – Late At Night

Late At Night is the thirteenth studio album by Billy Preston, released in 1979, and his debut for Motown Records. It includes his hit duet with Syreeta Wright, “With You I’m Born Again”, from the film Fast Break.


1  Give It Up, Hot (Billy Preston; Bruce Fisher; Ronnie Vann) 05:47
2  Late At Night (Billy Preston; Jesse Kirkland; Joe Greene) 04:45
3  All I Wanted Is You (Billy Preston; Carol Connors) 04:40
4  You (Billy Preston; Gloria Jones; Richard Jones) 04:22
5  I Come To Rest In You (Billy Preston; Guy Finley) 03:49
6  It Will Come In Time (Billy Preston) 04:47
7  Lovely Lady (Billy Preston; Jack Ackerman) 04:14
With You I’m Born Again(Carol Connors; David Shire) 03:35
9  Sock-It, Rocket (Billy Preston) 03:09


BassChuck Rainey
BassKeni Burke
BassRobert Lee Hill
GuitarDavid T Walker
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
HarpsichordBilly Preston
MelodicaBilly Preston
OrganBilly Preston
PianoBilly Preston
SynthesizerBilly Preston
HarpDorothy Ashby
SaxRobert Keyes
PercussionBobbye Hall
Background VocalsBobby King
Background VocalsBruce Fisher
Background VocalsGloria Jones
Background VocalsMaxayn Lewis
Background VocalsPhyllis St. James
Background VocalsRichard Jones
Background VocalsScherrie Payne
VocalsBilly Preston

Liner Notes

Producer – Billy Preston
Producer – David Shire, James Di Pasquale (Track 8)
Producer (Associate) – F. Byron Clark
Arranged By – David Blumberg (Tracks 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9)
Arranged By – Billy Preston (Tracks 2, 3, 7, 9)
Arranged By – David Shire (Tracks 8)
Engineer – F. Byron Clark
Engineer (Assistant) – Bob Winard, James Warmack, Steve Williams
Mastered By – Jack Andrews, Russ Terrana
Mixed By – F. Byron Clark
Remix – Russ Terrana

Record Company – EMI Electrola GmbH
Made By – EMI Electrola
Distributed By – EMI Electrola
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Motown Record Corporation