1978 Ace Frehley – Ace Frehley

Ace Frehley is a 1978 solo album from Ace Frehley, the lead guitarist of American hard rock band Kiss. It was one of four Kiss solo albums released by Casablanca Records on September 18, 1978.

The album was produced by Frehley and Eddie Kramer. It featured Anton Fig on drums. He later performed session work on the Kiss albums Dynasty and Unmasked, and became a member of Ace Frehley’s band Frehley’s Comet. Fig and Will Lee, who played bass on three of the album’s tracks, later gained prominence as members of the World’s Most Dangerous Band and the CBS Orchestra along with Paul Shaffer on Late Night with David Letterman and Late Show with David Letterman. In an interview with Loudwire, Frehley stated that some of the songs from his solo album were originally slated for the fifth Kiss album, Rock and Roll Over.


1  Rip It Out (Ace Frehley; Sue Kelly; Larry Kelly) 03:40
2  Speedin’ Back To My Baby (Ace Frehley; Jeanette Frehley) 03:37
3  Snow Blind (Ace Frehley) 03:55
4  Ozone (Ace Frehley) 04:40
5  What’s On Your Mind? (Ace Frehley) 03:28
6  New York Groove (Russ Ballard) 03:03
7  I’m In Need Of Love (Ace Frehley) 04:37
8  Wiped-Out (Ace Frehley; Anton Fig) 04:13
9  Fractured Mirror (Ace Frehley) 05:26


BassAce Frehley
DrumsAnton Fig
GuitarAce Frehley
Acoustic GuitarAce Frehley
SynthesizerAce Frehley
PercussionAnton Fig
VocalsAce Frehley

Other Musicians

1 Rip It Out

Background VocalsLarry Kelly

2 Speedin’ Back To My Baby

Background VocalsDavid Lasley
Background VocalsSusan Collins

4 Ozone

BassWill Lee

5 What’s On Your Mind?

Background VocalsDavid Lasley
Background VocalsSusan Collins

6 New York Groove

Background VocalsDavid Lasley
Background VocalsSusan Collins
VocalsBobby McAdams

7 I’m In Need Of Love

BassWill Lee

8 Wiped-Out

BassWill Lee

9 Fractured Mirror

DrumsCarl Tallarico
BellsBill Scheniman

Liner Notes

Producer – Ace Frehley, Eddie Kramer
Engineer – Eddie Kramer, Rob Freeman
Engineer (Assistant) – Eric Block, Don Hunerburg
Mastered By – George Marino
Recorded By – Eddie Kramer

Cover – Eraldo Carugati
Design – Howard Marks

Mastered At Sterling Sound, NY
Mixed At Plaza Sound, NY
Recorded At the Mansion, Sharon, Connecticut
Recorded At Plaza Sound
Phonographic Copyright Casablanca Record And Filmworks Inc