The Need Of Love is the second studio album by the band Earth, Wind & Fire, released in November 1971 by Warner Bros. Records. The album reached No. 35 on the Billboard Top Soul Albums chart.


1  Energy (Don Whitehead; Maurice White; Sherry Scott; Wade Flemons) 09:40
2  Beauty (Don Whitehead; Maurice White; Wade Flemons) 04:15
3  I Can Feel It In My Bones (Don Whitehead; Maurice White; Wade Flemons) 05:07
4  I Think About Lovin’ You (Sherry Scott) 05:55
5  Everything Is Everything (Phil Upchurch; Ric Powell; Richard Evans) 06:46



BassVerdine White
DrumsMaurice White
GuitarMichael Beal
Electric PianoDon Whitehead
PianoDon Whitehead
HarmonicaMichael Beal
SaxChester Washington
TromboneAlexander Thomas
CongasYackov Ben Israel
KalimbaMaurice White
PercussionYackov Ben Israel
VocalsSherry Scott
VocalsWade Flemons
VocalsDon Whitehead
VocalsMaurice White

Other Musicians

1  Energy

Trumpet Oscar Brashear


Liner Notes

Producer – Joe Wissert
Arranged By – Earth, Wind & Fire
Engineer – Doug Botnick
Recorded By – Doug Botnick
Mixed By – Al Schmitt

Photography By – Roland Charles

Mastered At Artisan Sound Recorders
Recorded At Sunset Sound
Copyright (c) Warner Bros. Records Inc