1985 Dennis Edwards – Coolin’ Out

Coolin’ Out is the second solo album by singer Dennis Edwards, released in 1985.

Dennis Edwards Jr. (February 3, 1943 – February 1, 2018) was an American soul and R&B singer who was best known as the frontman in The Temptations, on Motown Records. Edwards joined the Temptations in 1968, replacing David Ruffin and sang with the group from 1968 to 1976, 1980 to 1984 and 1987 to 1989. In the mid-1980s, he attempted a solo career, scoring a hit in 1984 with “Don’t Look Any Further” (featuring Siedah Garrett). Until his death, Edwards was the lead singer of The Temptations Review featuring Dennis Edwards, a Temptations splinter group.


1  Try A Little Tenderness (Harry Woods; James Campbell; Reginald Connelly) 03:58
2  State Of Limbo (Dennis Lambert; Franne Golde) 04:03
3  Amanda (Dennis Lambert; Patrick Henderson; Peter Wolf) 03:43
4  No Such Thing (Dennis Lambert; Peter Beckett) 04:21
5  Why Do People Fall In Love (Brian Potter; Dennis Lambert) 04:35
6  Givin’ So Much (Dennis Lambert; Franne Golde) 03:46
7  Coolin’ Out (David English; Dennis Edwards; Dennis Lambert; Glenn Leonard; Otis Williams; Richard Street; Robbie Buchanan) 04:11
8  Breakin’ Loose (Martin Page) 04:20
9  Wrap You (John Lewis Parker; Peter Beckett) 04:16



BassNathan East
BassLouis Johnson
DrumsJR Robinson
DrumsRicky Lawson
DrumsVinnie Colaiuta
Drums (programming)Paul Jackson Jr
Drums (programming)Dennis Lambert
Drums (programming)Robbie Buchanan
Drums (programming)Peter Wolf
GuitarDann Huff
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
KeyboardsJerry Peters
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
KeyboardsPeter Wolf
SynthesizerDennis Lambert
SynthesizerRobbie Buchanan
SynthesizerPeter Wolf
ProgrammingPaul Jackson Jr
ProgrammingDennis Lambert
ProgrammingRobbie Buchanan
ProgrammingPeter Wolf
SaxJerry Peterson
SaxPhil Kenzie
TrumpetSteve Madaio
PercussionPeter Wolf
Background VocalsClydene Jackson
Background VocalsDarryl Phinnessee
Background VocalsDennis Lambert
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMartin Page
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsOren Waters
Background VocalsPhillip Ingram
Background VocalsSiedah Garrett
VocalsDennis Edwards

Liner Notes

Producer – Dennis Lambert
Co-producer – Robbie Buchanan
Co-producer (Associate) – Jeremy Smith
Coordinator – Gail Pierson, Marrianne Pellicci
Engineer – Jeremy Smith
Engineer (Assistant) – Bino Espinoza, Casey McMackin, Jon Ingoldsby, Karen Siegel, Paul Ericksen
Mastered By – John Matousek
Mixed By (Additional) – Bill Bottrell, Gabe Veltri, Gary Skardina, Jay Lewis
Recorded By (Additional) – Bill Bottrell, Gabe Veltri, Gary Skardina, Jay Lewis

Distributed By MCA Distributing, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) Motown Record Corporation
Recorded At Soundcastle
Mixed At Soundcastle
Recorded At Music Grinder Studios
Recorded At Motown/Hitsville U.S.A. Recording Studios
Mastered At Motown/Hitsville U.S.A. Recording Studios
Copyright (c) Motown Record Corporation