1989 Soundtrack – Black Rain

Black Rain is a 1989 American action thriller film directed by Ridley Scott, starring Michael Douglas, Andy García, Ken Takakura, Kate Capshaw and Yusaku Matsuda. The story centers on two New York City police officers who arrest a member of the Yakuza and must escort him back to Japan. Once there, he escapes, and the two police officers find themselves dragged deeper and deeper into the Japanese underworld.


1  Iggy Pop – Livin’ On The Edge Of The Night (Eric Rackin; Jay Rifkin) 03:40
2  UB40 – The Way You Do The Things You Do (Robert Rogers; William Robinson Jr) 03:15
3  Soul II Soul Featuring Caron Wheeler – Back To Life (Jam On The Groove Mix) (Beresford Romeo; Nellee Hooper; Simon Law) 05:09
4  Ryuichi Sakamoto – Laserman (Ryuichi Sakamoto) 04:49
5  Les Rita Mitsouko and Sparks – Singing In The Shower (Ron Mael; Russell Mael) 04:24
6 Gregg Allman – I’ll Be Holding On (Hans Zimmer; Will Jennings) 05:40
7  Sato (Hans Zimmer) 04:45
8  Charlie Loses His Head (Hans Zimmer) 07:03
9  Sugai (Hans Zimmer) 06:55
10  Nick & Masa (Hans Zimmer) 02:52



KeyboardsSteve Porcaro
GuitarJennifer Batten
HornDavid Duke
HornCarol Drake
HornJerry Folsom
HornSuzette Moriarty
HornBrian O’Connor
HornRichard Todd
TromboneAlan Kaplan
TromboneDick Hyde
TromboneRichard Nash
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TrumpetMario Guarneri
TrumpetBurnette Dillon
TrumpetMalcolm McNab

Other Musicians

1 Livin’ On The Edge Of The Night

Bass Don Was
Guitar Waddy Wachtel
Keyboards Luis Resto

6 I’ll Be Holding On

Bass Mike Porcaro
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Mike Landau
Keyboards  David Paich
Piano David Paich
Synthesizer David Paich
Synthesizer Steve Porcaro
Programming Steve Porcaro
Sax David Boruff
Percussion Lenny Castro
Background Vocals Edie Lehmann
Vocals Gregg Allman

Liner Notes

Producer – Don Was (Track 1)
Producer – UB40 (Track 2)
Producer – Jazzie B, Nellee Hooper (Track 3)
Producer – Ryuichi Sakamoto (Track 4)
Producer – Tony Visconti, Les Rita Mitsouko (Track 5)
Producer – David Paich (Track 6)
Producer – Hans Zimmer, Jay Rifkin (Tracks 7, 8, 9, 10)
Producer (Executive) – Ridley Scott
Conductor – Shirley Walker (Tracks 7, 8, 9, 10)
Engineer – UB40 (Track 1)
Engineer – Arabella Rodriguez (Track 3)
Engineer (Recording) – Naoto Shibuya, Roger Moutenot, Jason Corsaro (Track 4)
Mastered By – Tom Baker
Mixed By – Don Smith (Track 1)
Mixed By – UB40 (Track 1)
Mixed By – Jazzie B, Nellee Hooper (Track 3)
Mixed By – Jason Corsaro, Ryuichi Sakamoto(Track 4)
Mixed By – Jesse Johnson, Les Rita Mitsouko (Track 5)
Mixed By – Bob Schaper, Tom Knox (Track 6)
Mixed By – Jay Rifkin (Tracks 7, 8, 9, 10)
Orchestrated By – Shirley Walker (Tracks 7, 8, 9, 10)
Recorded By – Steve Deutsch (Track 1)
Recorded By – Bob Schaper, Tom Knox (Track 6)
Recorded By – Jay Rifkin (Tracks 7, 8, 9, 10)