1982 Keith Green – Songs For The Shepherd

Songs For The Shepherd is the fifth album released by American contemporary Christian music pianist and singer Keith Green.

Keith Gordon Green (October 21, 1953 – July 28, 1982) was an American contemporary Christian music pianist, singer, and songwriter originally from Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, New York. Beyond his music, Green is best known for his strong devotion to Christ and challenging others to the same. Several of his compositions became standards of contemporary Christian music. Notable songs include “Oh Lord, You’re Beautiful”, “Asleep in the Light”, “Your Love Broke Through”, “You Put This Love in My Heart”, “The Prodigal Son Suite”, and “There Is a Redeemer”, the last of which was written by his wife Melody.


1  The Lord Is My Shepherd (Melody Green; Keith Green; Traditional) 04:10
2  You Are The One! (Melody Green; Keith Green) 02:38
3  How Majestic Is Thy Name (Keith Green; Traditional) 03:59
4  Draw Me (Keith Green; Melody Green) 03:46
5  Glory Lord Jesus (Keith Green) 03:19
6  There Is A Redeemer (Melody Green) 03:10
7  The Promise Song (Keith Green; Melody Green) 03:20
8  Until That Final Day (Keith Green) 04:37
9  Jesus Is Lord Of All (Keith Green) 02:31
10  O God Our Lord (Keith Green) 03:48
11  I Will Give Thanks To The Lord (Melody Green; Keith Green; Traditional) 01:46
12  Holy, Holy, Holy (John Dykes; Reginald Heber) 03:40



BassAbraham Laboriel Sr
DrumsBill Maxwell
GuitarHadley Hockensmith
Fender RhodesHarlan Rogers
PianoKeith Green
SynthesizerTom Keene
PercussionAlex Acuna
PercussionBill Maxwell
Background VocalsAlfie Silas
Background VocalsHoward Smith
Background VocalsLinda McCrary
VocalsKeith Green

Other Musicians

1 The Lord Is My Shepherd

PianoHarlan Rogers

4 Draw Me

Pedal Steel GuitarAl Perkins

5 Glory Lord Jesus

SynthesizerKeith Green

7 The Promise Song

Acoustic GuitarKeith Green
Fender RhodesKeith Green
FluteSteve Tavaglione
Background VocalsCarvin Winans

10 O God Our Lord

VocalsLinda McCrary

11 I Will Give Thanks To The Lord

DrumsAlex Acuna


Strings, Orchestra – The London National Philharmonic Orchestra

Liner Notes

Producer – Bill Maxwell, Keith Green
Arranged By (Strings) – Harlan Rogers
Arranged By (Tracks) – Bill Maxwell, Keith Green
Arranged By – Keith Green (Track 12)
Concertmaster – Sidney Sax
Conductor – Harlan Rogers
Engineer – Gordon Shryock
Engineer (Assistant) – Wally Grant
Engineer (Orchestra) – Keith Grant
Engineer (Overdubs) – Peter Hayden, Willie Harlan
Mastered By – Steve Hall
Mixed By – Bill Maxwell, Gordon Shryock, Keith Green
Mixed By (Assistant) – Wally Grant

Design (Inner Sleeve Design) – Pretty Good Graphics
Design, Layout – Stan Evenson
Photography By – Mark Hanauer

Mastered At MCA Whitney Recording Studios
Mastered At Sheffield Lab Matrix
Mixed At Weddington Studios
Overdubbed At Paramount Recorders
Overdubbed At International Automated Media
Recorded At Weddington Studios
Recorded At Olympic Studios
Copyright (c) Last Days Ministries