1981 Joe Sample – Voices In The Rain

Voices In The Rain is the fifth solo album by Joe Sample, released in 1981 on MCA Jazz.


1  Voices In The Rain (Joe Sample) 06:27
2  Burnin’ Up The Carnival (Joe Sample; Will Jennings) 07:20
3  Greener Grass (Joe Sample) 05:23
4  Eye Of The Hurricane (Joe Sample) 05:19
5  Dream Of Dreams (Joe Sample) 04:48
6  Shadows (Joe Sample) 06:12
7  Sonata In Solitude (Joe Sample) 05:57



BassAbraham Laboriel Sr
DrumsStix Hooper
GuitarDean Parks
Electric PianoJoe Sample
PianoJoe Sample
SynthesizerJoe Sample
ProgrammingRory Kaplan
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

Other Musicians

1 Voices In The Rain

FlugelhornJerry Hey
FluteNika Rejto
TrumpetJerry Hey

2 Burnin’ Up The Carnival

Background VocalsFlora Purim
Background VocalsPauline Wilson
VocalsJosie James

3 Greener Grass

FlugelhornJerry Hey
FluteNika Rejto
TrumpetJerry Hey

4 Eye Of The Hurricane

FlugelhornJerry Hey
FluteNika Rejto
TrumpetJerry Hey

6 Shadows

Background VocalsFlora Purim

7 Sonata In Solitude

Acoustic BassRay Brown
GuitarJohn Collins
ViolinLakshminarayana Subramaniam

Liner Notes

Producer – Joe Sample, Wilton Felder, Stix Hooper
Arranged By (Strings) – Joe Sample
Conductor (Strings) – Joe Sample
Contractor (Strings) – Sidney Sharp
Coordinator (Equipment) – Michael Lovelady
Coordinator (Production) – Pamela Hope Lobue
Engineer – Greg Venable
Engineer (Assistant) – Russell Bracher
Executive Assistant – Tom Hooper
Mixed By – Galen Senogles

Mastered At The Mastering Lab
Mixed At Producers Workshop
Recorded At Britannia Studios
Manufactured By MCA Records, Inc.
Produced For  Crusaders Productions, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) MCA Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) MCA Records, Inc.