1977 America – Harbor

Harbor is the seventh studio album by American folk rock trio America, released by Warner Bros. Records in February 1977. It was the last to feature Dan Peek, who embarked on a solo Christian career shortly after the album’s release. The album was produced by George Martin.

Though a major commercial disappointment compared to America’s six previous albums, the album did reach number 21 on the Billboard album chart. Three singles (“God of the Sun”, “Don’t Cry Baby” and the disco song “Slow Down”) were released from the album but all failed to chart, although “God of the Sun” and “Now She’s Gone” did get some airplay.


1  God Of The Sun (Gerry Beckley) 03:16
2  Slow Down (Dan Peek) 03:12
3  Don’t Cry Baby (Dan Peek) 03:15
4  Now She’s Gone (Gerry Beckley) 02:28
5  Political Poachers (Dewey Bunnell) 02:41
6  Sarah (Gerry Beckley) 02:47
7  Sergeant Darkness (Gerry Beckley) 02:59
8  Are You There (Dewey Bunnell) 02:53
9  These Brown Eyes (Dan Peek) 02:32
10  Monster (Gerry Beckley) 02:03
11  Hurricane (Dan Peek) 02:31
12  Down To The Water (Dewey Bunnell) 02:32



BassDavid Dickey
DrumsWillie Leacox
GuitarDewey Bunnell
GuitarGerry Beckley
GuitarDan Peek
SitarLarry Carlton
PianoGerry Beckley
PianoDan Peek
SynthesizerGerry Beckley
SynthesizerDan Peek
SaxJimmy Calire
PercussionWillie Leacox
PercussionTom Walsh
VocalsDewey Bunnell
VocalsGerry Beckley
VocalsDan Peek

Liner Notes

Producer – George Martin
Arranged By – George Martin
Engineer – Geoff Emerick, Jack Crymes, Tom Anderson
Technician – Jack Crymes

Cover – Phil Hartmann
Photography By – Henry Diltz

Mixed At Air Studios
Recorded At Ka Lae Kiki
Recorded At Record Plant Mobile Studio
Phonographic Copyright (p) Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) Warner Bros. Records Inc.