2013 Tom Kennedy – Just Play!

Just Play! is the fourth album by Tom Kennedy, released in 2013 on Capri.

Tom Kennedy (born August 21, 1960 in St. Louis, Missouri) is an American double-bass and electric bass player.

Tom Kennedy is the son of a professional trumpet player. He began playing acoustic bass at the age of nine on a double-bass brought home by his older brother, jazz pianist Ray Kennedy. Soon he began to perform with many nationally recognized artists passing through the Midwest. By his 18th birthday, he had performed with Dizzy Gillespie, Sonny Stitt, Stan Kenton, James Moody, Barney Kessel, Eddie Harris, George Russell, Nat Adderley, Peter Erskine, Bill Watrous and Freddie Hubbard.


1  Airegin (Sonny Rollins) 06:54
2  Moanin’ (Bobby Timmons) 08:30
3  The Night Has A Thousand Eyes (Victor Young) 09:27
4  Ceora (Freddie Hubbard) 07:16
5  One Liners (Mike Stern) 10:19
6  In a Sentimental Mode (Duke Ellington) 08:20
7  Bolivia (Cedar Walton) 09:42
8  In Your Own Sweet Way (Dave Brubeck) 07:47
9  What Is This Thing Called Love (Cole Porter) 05:49



Acoustic BassTom Kennedy
DrumsDave Weckl
GuitarLee Ritenour
GuitarMike Stern
PianoRenee Rosnes
SaxGeorge Garzone
SaxSteve Wirts
TromboneJohn Allred
TrumpetTim Hagans

Liner Notes

Producer – Mike Lazarraga, Thomas Burns, Tom Kennedy
Mastered By – George Whitty
Mixed By – Dave Weckl, Tom Kenned
Recorded By – Jim Czak
Technician – Brian Kornfeld, Bruce Alcott, Lou Gioia

Photography By – Jessica Rinaldi, Mark Wood, Ron Lipson, Sandrine Lee

Mixed At The Garage, Woodland Hills, CA
Recorded At Nola Recording Studios
Copyright (c) Capri Records Ltd.