2004 Brenda Russell – Between The Sun And The Moon

Between The Sun And The Moon is the eighth album by Brenda Russell, released in 2004 on Dome Records/Narada Jazz.


1  Make You Smile (Brenda Russell; Jean-Paul Maunick) 04:34
2  Too Cool For The Room (Brenda Russell; Victor Redwood-Sawyer) 04:06
3  The Message (Brenda Russell; Ron Spearman) 04:39
4  Between The Sun And The Moon (Brenda Russell; Patti Austin) 04:40
5  I Know You By Heart (Brenda Russell; Mark Cawley) 04:46
6  When You Comin’ Back To Me (Brenda Russell; Lee Hamblin; Simon Law) 04:57
7  Let Somebody Know (Brenda Russell; Bunny Hull) 05:20
8  The Tracks Of My Tears (Warren Moore; Marvin Tarplin; Smokey Robinson) 04:46
9  Different Eyes (Brenda Russell; Kye Fleming) 04:23
10  Ain’t No Smoke (Brenda Russell; Jean-Paul Maunick) 04:40
11  You Know Our Day Will Come (Brenda Russell; Simon Law) 04:36
12  It’s A Jazz Day (Brenda Russell) 03:47



1 Make You Smile

BassMatt Cooper
Drums (programming)Daniel Maunick
GuitarJean-Paul Maunick
KeyboardsMatt Cooper
SaxEd Jones
TromboneNichol Thomson
TrumpetDominic Glover
CongasRichard Bailey
PercussionRichard Bailey
VocalsBrenda Russell

2 Too Cool For The Room

BassVictor Redwood-Sawyer
Drums (programming)Victor Redwood-Sawyer
KeyboardsVictor Redwood-Sawyer
VocalsBrenda Russell

3 The Message

All InstrumentsRon Spearman
VocalsBrenda Russell

4 Between The Sun And The Moon

Drums (programming)Stephan Oberhoff
KeyboardsBrenda Russell
ProgrammingStephan Oberhoff
PercussionCassio Duarte
PercussionStephan Oberhoff
VocalsPatti Austin
VocalsBrenda Russell

5 I Know You By Heart

All InstrumentsJochem Van Der Saag
Fender RhodesMark Cawley
GuitarJames Harrah
Background VocalsJochem Van Der Saag
VocalsBrenda Russell

6 When You Comin’ Back To Me

BassNathan East
DrumsLee Hamblin
GuitarLee Hamblin
KeyboardsSimon Law
FlugelhornGraham Flowers
FluteGary Barnacle
SaxGary Barnacle
TrumpetGraham Flowers
PercussionLee Hamblin
VocalsBrenda Russell

7 Let Somebody Know

All InstrumentsJohn Barnes
GuitarJames Harrah
ProgrammingJohn Barnes
Background VocalsAlex Brown
Background VocalsBrenda Lee Eager
Background VocalsBridgette Bryant
Background VocalsBunny Hull
Background VocalsFred White
Background VocalsJoey Diggs
VocalsBrenda Russell

8 The Tracks Of My Tears

BassLee Ritenour
DrumsJochem Van Der Saag
Acoustic GuitarLee Ritenour
KeyboardsRussell Ferrante
SynthesizerRussell Ferrante
ProgrammingJochem Van Der Saag
SamplerJochem Van Der Saag
Background VocalsDarlene Perry
Background VocalsLori Perry
Background VocalsSharon Perry
VocalsBrenda Russell

9 Different Eyes

BassWayne Linsey
DrumsStephen Bray
GuitarJames Harrah
GuitarMichael James
PercussionLuis Conte
VocalsBrenda Russell

10 Ain’t No Smoke

BassSki Oakenfull
Drums (programming)Ski Oakenfull
GuitarJean-Paul Maunick
KeyboardsSki Oakenfull
Background VocalsHamish Stuart
Background VocalsImaani
Background VocalsTyrone Henry
VocalsBrenda Russell

11 You Know Our Day Will Come

BassNathan East
DrumsSimon Law
GuitarJoseph Ross
KeyboardsSimon Law
KeyboardsLee Hamblin
PercussionThomas Dyani
Background VocalsLee Hamblin
VocalsBrenda Russell

12 It’s A Jazz Day

BassJimmy Haslip
DrumsMoyes Lucas
Fender RhodesJoe Vannelli
KeyboardsBrenda Russell
KeyboardsJoe Vannelli
SaxScott Mayo
TrumpetMark Ledford
VibraphoneJoe Vannelli
Background VocalsMark Ledford
VocalsBrenda Russell

Other Musicians

Liner Notes

Producer – Brenda Russell (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12)
Producer – Jean Paul Maunick (Tracks 1, 10)
Producer – Victor Redwood-Sawyer (Track 2)
Producer – RonKat Spearman (Track 3)
Producer – Stephan Oberhoff (Track 4)
Producer – Jochem van der Saag (Track 5)
Producer – Lee Hamblin, Simon Law (Tracks 6, 11)
Producer – John Barnes (Track 7)
Producer – Lee Ritenour (Track 8)
Producer – Stephen Bray (Track 9)
Producer – Joe Vannelli (Track 12)
Producer (Associate) – Jochem Van Der Saag (Track 8)
Producer (Executive) – Brenda Russell, Peter Robinson
Arranged By – Stephan Oberhoff (Track 4)
Arranged By – Patti Austin (Track 4)
Arranged By – Brenda Russell (Track 4)
Arranged By – Lee Ritenour (Track 8)
Arranged By (Horns) – Jean Paul Maunick, Nichol Thomson, Dominic Glover (Track 1)
Arranged By (Rhythm, Horn) – Brenda Russell (Track 12)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Patti Austin (Track 4)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Brenda Russell (Track 4)
Engineer (Additional) – Scott Blockland (Tracks 2, 7)
Engineer (Assistant) – Joe Primeau (Tracks 12)
Mastered By – Denis Blackham
Mixed By – Simon Cotsworth (Tracks 1, 10)
Mixed By – Darryl Lavictoire (Track 2)
Mixed By – Joe Vannelli (Tracks 3, 4, 12)
Mixed By – Jochem van der Saag (Track 5)
Mixed By – Paul Borg (Tracks 6, 11)
Mixed By – Dave Rideau (Track 7)
Mixed By – Don Murray (Track 8)
Mixed By – John Potoker (Track 9)
Recorded By – Simon Cotsworth (Tracks 1, 10)
Recorded By – Victor Redwood-Sawyer (Track 2)
Recorded By – Keith Price (Track 3)
Recorded By – Stephan Oberhoff (Tracks 4, 5)
Recorded By – Jack Ruben (Track 7)
Recorded By – Scott Blockland (Track 9)
Recorded By – Joe Vannelli (Track 12)
Recorded By (Additional) – Scott Blockland, Stephen Bray (Track 12)

Photography By – Paul Schefz
Design – Shark Attack

Phonographic Copyright (p) The Verve Music Group
Phonographic Copyright (p) Dome Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) Dome Records Ltd.