1987 The Oak Ridge Boys – Heartbeat

Heartbeat is the 13th country studio album by the American country music group The Oak Ridge Boys, released via MCA Records in 1987. It was the first album to feature Steve Sanders, who replaced William Lee Golden as the group’s baritone in March of that year. The album includes the singles “Time In” and “True Heart”. The album reached number 20 on Top Country Albums.

“Love Without Mercy” was later a top 10 hit for Lee Roy Parnell in 1992.


1  Come By Here (Paul Kelly) 04:02
2  All I Need (Rick Giles; Steve Bogard) 03:28
3  Don’t Turn Around (Gary Burr) 03:39
4  A Little More Coal On The Fire (Dave Loggins) 03:05
5  Love Without Mercy (Don Pfrimmer; Mike Reid) 03:12
6  Hear My Heart Beat (Danny Mayo; Jim Casey) 03:03
7  Time In (James Dean Hicks; Rich Alves; Roger Murrah) 03:39
8  One Love, One You (Lisa Palas; Mark Sanders; Will Robinson) 03:05
9  New Way Out (Randy Sharp) 02:51
10  True Heart (Don Schlitz; Michael Clark) 03:55



BassLeland Sklar
DrumsRuss Kunkel
Drums (programming)Mike Lawler
GuitarReggie Young
PianoJohn Jarvis
SynthesizerJohn Jarvis
SynthesizerMike Lawler
Acoustic GuitarBilly Joe Walker Jr
PercussionRuss Kunkel
VocalsDuane Allen
VocalsJoe Bonsall
VocalsRichard Sterban
VocalsSteve Sanders

Liner Notes

Producer – Jimmy Bowen
Coordinator – Jessie Noble
Edited By – Milan Bogdan
Engineer (Second) – Keith Odie, Mark Coddington, Russ Martin, Tim Kish
Mastered By – Glenn Meadows
Mixed By – Steve Tillisch, Bob Bullock
Recorded By – Ron Treat, Willie Pevear, Bob Bullock

Art Direction – Simon Levy
Design – Katherine DeVault Design
Photography – Mark Tucker

Mastered At Masterfonics
Recorded At Emerald Sound Studios
Recorded At Sound Stage Studios
Produced For Lynwood Productions