1976 Labelle – Chameleon

Chameleon is the sixth album by American singing trio Labelle. Though Patti LaBelle’s autobiography Don’t Block The Blessings revealed that LaBelle planned a follow-up to Chameleon entitled Shaman, the album never materialized. The trio would not release another new recording until 2008’s Back to Now. The final album was moderately successful peaking at #94 at the Pop charts and #21 on the R&B charts. Only two singles made the charts which were “Get You Somebody New” which peaked at #50 on the Pop charts and their memorable song “Isn’t It A Shame” which peaked at #18 on the R&B charts. “Isn’t It A Shame” was later sampled by Nelly on his 2004 hit, “My Place”, which featured Jaheim.


1  Get You Somebody New (Joe Crane) 06:11
2  Come Into My Life (Nona Hendryx) 06:46
3  Isn’t It A Shame (Randy Edelman) 07:57
4  Who’s Watching The Watcher? (Nona Hendryx) 04:16
5  Chameleon (Nona Hendryx) 05:15
6  Gypsy Moths (Nona Hendryx) 05:00
7  A Man In A Trenchcoat (Voodoo) (Nona Hendryx) 07:49
8  Going Down Makes Me Shiver (Nona Hendryx) 07:08



BassCarmine Rojas
DrumsJames Gadson
GuitarWah Wah Watson
GuitarRay Parker Jr
KeyboardsJames Ellison
PianoJames Ellison
PercussionJames Gadson
VocalsNona Hendryx
VocalsSarah Dash
VocalsPatti LaBelle

Other Musicians

1 Get You Somebody New

CongasLeon Chancler
SaxStephen Kupka
SaxLenny Pickett
SaxEmilio Castillo
SaxKurt McGettrick
PercussionLeon Chancler

2 Come Into My Life

CongasLeon Chancler
PercussionLeon Chancler

3 Isn’t It A Shame

SynthesizerTom Coster

4 Who’s Watching The Watcher?

BassMac Cridlin
DrumsScott Mathews

5 Chameleon

CongasJose Areas
TimbalesJose Areas

6 Gypsy Moths

CongasJose Areas
TimbalesJose Areas

7 A Man In A Trenchcoat (Voodoo)

CongasJose Areas
CongasLeon Chancler
TimbalesJose Areas
PercussionLeon Chancler

8 Going Down Makes Me Shiver

SynthesizerDavid Rubinson
SynthesizerJames Ellison

Liner Notes

Producer – David Rubinson & Friends Inc
Producer (Associate) – Vicki Wickham
Arranged By – David Rubinson & Friends Inc, Vicki Wickham
Arranged By (Basic Songs) – Eddie Martinez, James Budd Ellison, Labelle, Rev Batts (Tracks 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Horns) – Kurt McGettrick
Engineer – David Rubinson, Fred Catero
Engineer (Assistant) – Susie Foot
Mastered By – George Horn, Phil Brown

Design – Ed Lee, Andy Engel
Illustration – Guy Fery
Photography – Lock Huey

Manufactured By Epic Records
Manufactured By CBS Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) CBS Inc.