1968 The Fugs – Tenderness Junction

Tenderness Junction is a 1968 studio album by The Fugs, a band formed in 1964 by anti-war musician/poets Ed Sanders, Tuli Kupferberg and Ken Weaver. It was released in the U.S. by record company Reprise. As of March 2009, the album is not available as a stand-alone CD, but the tracks appear on the 2006 3-CD box set, Electromagnetic Steamboat.


1  Turn On/Tune In/Drop Out (Timothy Leary; Ed Sanders; Ken Weaver) 04:44
2  Knock Knock (Ed Sanders) 04:20
3  The Garden Is Open (Tuli Kupferberg) 06:09
4  Wet Dream (Ed Sanders) 03:21
5  Hare Krishna (Zeus; Allen Ginsberg) 03:24
6  Exorcising The Evil Spirits From The Pentagon October 21, 1967 (Ed Sanders) 03:18
7  War Song (Ed Sanders; Ken Pine; Ken Weaver) 05:24
8  Dover Beach (Matthew Arnold; Tuli Kupferberg) 04:01
9  Fingers Of The Sun (Ed Sanders) 02:23
10  Aphrodite Mass (Ed Sanders; Gary Elton; Sappho) 08:28



BassCharles Larkey
DrumsKen Weaver
GuitarKen Pine
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
OrganKen Pine
SynthesizerKen Pine
ViolaDanny Kortchmar
PercussionDanny Kortchmar
VocalsKen Pine
VocalsDanny Kortchmar
VocalsEd Sanders
VocalsKen Weaver
VocalsTuli Kupferberg

Other Musicians

5 Hare Krishna

HarmoniumGregory Corso
Background VocalsAllen Ginsberg
Background VocalsMaretta Greer

Liner Notes

Producer – Ed Sanders
Arranged By – The Fugs
Arranged By – Warren Smith (Track 9)
Arranged By (Guitars) – Danny Kortchmar, Ken Pine (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Arranged By (Strings) – Warren Smith
Engineer – Richard Alderson

Design (Album) – Marvin Israel
Photography By – Richard Avedon

Record Company – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Terre Haute