2002 Vanessa Carlton – Be Not Nobody

Be Not Nobody is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Vanessa Carlton, released on April 30, 2002, through A&M Records. As of late 2004 the album had sold 1.38 million copies in the US according to Nielsen SoundScan, and Variety magazine reported in July 2003 that it had sold 2.3 million worldwide. Billboard magazine placed Carlton at number twenty-one on its year-end “Top Pop Artists” list for 2002.

“A Thousand Miles” was released as the lead single from the album and reached the top five on the US Billboard Hot 100, number one in Australia and the top ten in the United Kingdom. Be Not Nobody was certified gold by the RIAA in June 2002, and platinum in October 2002.

“Ordinary Day” charted inside the top forty on the US Hot 100.

“Pretty Baby” was remixed and released as the album’s third and final single in early 2003. After the single’s release, subsequent pressings of the album contained the remixed single version of the song in place of its original album version. “Pretty Baby” did not appear on the Hot 100 or the UK top seventy-five, but was nominated for a 2003 Teen Choice Award for “Choice Love Song”,


Ordinary Day (Vanessa Carlton) 03:58
2  Unsung (Vanessa Carlton) 04:20
A Thousand Miles (Vanessa Carlton) 03:57
Pretty Baby (Vanessa Carlton) 03:55
5  Rinse (Vanessa Carlton) 04:32
6  Sway (Vanessa Carlton) 03:58
7  Paradise (Vanessa Carlton) 04:50
8  Prince (Vanessa Carlton) 04:09
9  Paint It Black (Mick Jagger; Keith Richards) 03:30
10  Wanted (Vanessa Carlton) 03:55
11  Twilight (Vanessa Carlton) 05:19


BassLeland Sklar
DrumsAbe Laboriel Jr
GuitarJohn Goux
DulcimersJohn Goux
SitarJohn Goux
OrganRon Fair
PianoVanessa Carlton
HarmonicaRon Fair
VibraphoneRon Fair
PercussionLuis Conte
VocalsVanessa Carlton

Other Musicians

7 Paradise

Upright BassChuck Berghofer

8 Prince

Double BassAlex Al

Liner Notes

Producer – Ron Fair
Arranged By – Ron Fair, Vanessa Carlton
Conductor – Ron Fair (Tracks 1, 2 ,3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Conductor – Randy Kerber (Track 11)
Engineer (Assistant) – Brian Vibberts, Bryan Cook, Chris Steffen, Chris Wonzer, Erik Reichers, Franny G, J.D. Andrew, Jay Goin, Jeff Rothschild, Jim Danis
Mastered By – Eddy Schreyer
Mixed By – Jack Joseph Puig (Tracks 1 to 3, 5, 6, 8, 9)
Mixed By – Michael C Ross (Tracks 7, 10, 11)
Mixed By – Hugh Padgham (Track 4)
Orchestrated By – Ron Fair (Tracks 1, 2 ,3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Orchestrated By – Randy Kerber (Track 11)
Recorded By – Michael C Ross, Tal Herzberg
Recorded By (Additional) – Bill Schnee
Technician – Tal Herzberg

Art Direction – Drew FitzGerald
Photography By – Alan Silfen, Jim Wright, Kurt Iswarienko

Phonographic Copyright (p) – A&M Records
Copyright (c) – A&M Records
Recorded At – IGA Studios
Recorded At – Henson Recording Studios
Recorded At – Royaltone Studios
Mastered At – Oasis Mastering