1972 The Doobbie Brothers – Toulouse Street

Toulouse Street is the second studio album by American rock band The Doobie Brothers. The album was released on July 1, 1972, by Warner Bros. Records. It was their first album with new bassist Tiran Porter and second drummer Michael Hossack to augment existing drummer John Hartman, so it meant that they now had their trademark twin-drummer sound. Toulouse Street is the name of a street in the French Quarter of New Orleans. The cover and inside centerfold photos were taken at a former brothel on Toulouse Street.


Listen To The Music(Tom Johnston) 04:43
2  Rockin’ Down The Highway (Tom Johnston) 03:19
3  Mamaloi (Patrick Simmons) 02:27
4  Toulouse Street (Patrick Simmons) 03:19
5  Cotton Mouth (Jim Seals; Dash Crofts) 03:41
6  Don’t Start Me To Talkin’ (Sonny Boy Williamson) 02:41
Jesus Is Just Alright(Arthur Reynolds) 04:32
8  White Sun (Tom Johnston) 02:28
9  Disciple (Tom Johnston) 06:41
10  Snake Man (Tom Johnston) 01:35


BassTiran Porter
DrumsMichael Hossack
DrumsJohn Hartman
GuitarPatrick Simmons
GuitarTom Johnston
OrganBill Payne
PianoBill Payne
SaxJerry Jumonville
SaxJon Smith
TrumpetJoe Davis
TrumpetMarshall Cyr
PercussionJohn Hartman
VocalsTiran Porter
VocalsPatrick Simmons
VocalsTom Johnston

Other Musicians

4 Toulouse Street

BassDave Shogren

8 White Sun

VocalsDave Shogren

Liner Notes

Producer – Ted Templeman
Co-producer – Marty Cohn, Stephen Barncard (Tracks 4, 8, 10)
Coordinator – Benita Brazier
Engineer – Donn Landee
Engineer (Associate) – Marty Cohn, Stephen Barncard (Tracks 4, 8, 10)

Art Direction – Ed Thrasher
Design – John And Barbara Casado
Photography By – Michael And Jill Maggid

Copyright (c) Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Recorded At Warner Bros. Recording Studios
Recorded At Wally Heider Studios
Record Company Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Record Company Warner Bros. Inc.