1987 Roger Daltrey – Can’t Wait To See The Movie

Can’t Wait To See The Movie is the seventh solo studio album by English singer, songwriter and actor Roger Daltrey, the lead vocalist for The Who. The album was released in mid 1987 on the record label Atlantic, and was primarily produced by Alan Shacklock, in association with David Foster, Chas Sanford and Jimmy Scott. Among the songs Daltrey is credited as co-writer on two tracks “Balance on Wires” and “Take Me Home”. David Foster co-wrote the track “The Price of Love”, which was also featured in the 1987 movie The Secret of My Success starring Michael J. Fox.

Can’t Wait to See the Movie is a pop album that incorporates some genres such as funk, rock, and jazz, and it makes prominent use of the synthesizer. The album was received negatively by the majority of music critics, with some critics describing its music as inauthentic and bemoaning the production as too polished. It was also a commercial disappointment, missing the album charts in Europe and the US. One critic referred to it as “Can’t Wait to Sell the Record,” while other reviewers noted good points to the recordings. When asked about the album at the time, Daltrey said that “It’s amazing after all these years how everything can become new and fun again.”


1  Hearts Of Fire (Russ Ballard) 05:05
2  When The Thunder Comes (Chas Sandford; Damon Metrebian) 03:39
3  Ready For Love (Kit Hain) 03:28
4  Balance On Wires (Don Snow; Roger Daltrey) 06:22
5  Miracle Of Love (Jimmy Scott; Mark Morgan) 04:37
6  The Price Of Love (David Foster; Jack Blades) 04:16
7  The Heart Has Its Reasons (Jimmy Scott) 04:11
8  Alone In The Night (Larry Lee; Richie Zito; Tom Whitlock; Steve Bates) 04:27
9  Loveґs Storm (Gary Usher; Tom Kelly) 03:53
10  Take Me Home (Axel Bauer; Roger Daltrey; Nigel Hinton; Michel Eli) 05:45



BassJohn Siegler
DrumsTony Beard
GuitarGary Grainger
GuitarClem Clempson
GuitarChas Sandford
KeyboardsJohn van Tongeren
KeyboardsNick Glennie-Smith
SaxGary Barnacle
PercussionMartin Ditcham
Background VocalsMark Williamson
Background VocalsChris Eaton
Background VocalsLance Ellington
Background VocalsAnnie McCraig
Background VocalsMiriam Stockley
Background VocalsPeter Beckett

Other Musicians

1 Hearts Of Fire

GuitarRuss Ballard
Background VocalsRuss Ballard

4 Balance On Wires

KeyboardsDon Snow

6 The Price Of Love

DrumsTris Imboden
GuitarMike Landau
KeyboardsDavid Foster
SynthesizerDave Boruff
ProgrammingMichael Boddicker
SaxDave Boruff

7 The Heart Has Its Reasons

BassPhil Brown
GuitarPhil Brown
KeyboardsMark Morgan
SaxBimbo Acock
Background VocalsJohn Payne
Background VocalsJimmy Scott

Liner Notes

Producer – Alan Shacklock (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10)
Producer – Chas Sandford (Track 2)
Producer – David Foster (Track 6)
Producer – Jimmy Scott (Track 7)
Arranged By (Horn) – Richard Niles (Track 10)
Engineer – Alan Douglas
Engineer (Assistant) – Noel Harris, Paul Batchelor, Roger Dobson
Engineer (Mix) – Mark Wallis
Engineer (Remix) – Marc Frank

Photography By, Design Concept– Graham Hughes
Typography, Design – Gary Warren

Recorded At Odyssey
Recorded At The Townhouse
Recorded At RAK
Recorded At Eden
Recorded At Mayfair
Recorded At Secret Sound LA
Recorded At Chartmaker LA