1975 Van McCoy & The Soul City Symphony – Love Is The Answer

Love Is the Answer is the third album by Van McCoy (& The Soul City Symphony), released in 1975.

Van Allen Clinton McCoy (January 6, 1940 – July 6, 1979) was an American musician, record producer, arranger, songwriter, singer and orchestra conductor. He is known best for his 1975 internationally successful song “The Hustle”. He has approximately 700 song copyrights to his credit, and is also noted for producing songs for such recording artists as Gladys Knight & the Pips, The Stylistics, Aretha Franklin, Brenda & the Tabulations, David Ruffin, Peaches & Herb, Lesley Gore and Stacy Lattisaw.


1  Love Is The Answer (George Weiss; Hugo Peretti; Luigi Creatore) 03:20
2  Touch Me In The Morning (Michael Messer; Ronald Miller) 03:47
3  Back Stabbers (Leon Huff; Gene McFadden; John Whitehead) 03:11
4  Proud Mary (John Fogerty) 03:43
5  You Are The Sunshine Of My Life (Stevie Wonder) 03:31
6  African Symphony (Van McCoy) 02:58
7  Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (Nickolas Ashford; Valerie Simpson) 03:52
8  Boogie Down (Anita Poree; Frank Wilson; Leonard Caston) 03:18
9  A Rainy Night In Georgia (Tony Joe White) 04:32
10  Funky Feet (Van McCoy) 03:12



BassGordon Edwards
DrumsHerbie Lovelle
DrumsRick Marotta
GuitarDavid Spinozza
GuitarJohn Tropea
HarpGloria Agostini
KeyboardsLeon Pendarvis
KeyboardsRichard Tee
KeyboardsVan McCoy
HornsBernie Glow
HornsDominick Gravine
HornsGarnett Brown
HornsJim Buffington
HornsMarvin Stamm
HornsMelvin Lincoln Davis
HornsPaul Faulise
HornsRobert Alexander
HornsUrbie Green
HornsWarren Covington
VibraphoneDave Carey
VibraphoneGeorge Devens


Alfred Brown, Arnold Black, Charles McCracken, David Nadien, Emanuel Green, Emanuel Vardi, Gene Orloff, George Ricci, Harold Kohon, Harry Lookofsky, Joseph Malignaggi, Julien Barber, Kathryn Kienke, Kermit Moore, Max Ellen, Paul Gershman, Phil Bodner, Romeo Penque, Selwart Clarke

Liner Notes

Producer – Hugo Peretti, Luigi Creatore
Arranged By – Van McCoy
Conductor – Van McCoy
Engineer – Jeffrey Lesser
Mastered By – Gilbert Kong

Art Direction – Maurer Productions, Michael Mendel, Michael Mendel
Photography By – Don Paulson, Don Paulson

Recorded At – Mediasound
Mastered At – Masterdisk
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Avco Records Corp.
Manufactured By – Victor Musical Industries, Inc.
Distributed By – Victor Musical Industries, Inc.