1989 Johnny Mathis – The Island

The Island is an album by American pop singer Johnny Mathis that was completed for Columbia Records in 1989 but not released in its entirety by parent corporation Sony Music Entertainment until December 8, 2017,  when it was included in the Mathis box set The Voice of Romance: The Columbia Original Album Collection. The liner notes for the box set indicate that all of the songs for this album were recorded on August 18, 1989.

The album was (finally) officially released in 2020 by Real Gone Music.

Johnny Mathis The Island CD


1  The Island (Alan Bergman; Marilyn Bergman; Ivan Lins; Vitor Martins) 04:00
2  Who’s in Love Here (Ivan Lins; Vitor Martins; Brenda Russell) 04:24
3  Like A Lover (Alan Bergman; Marilyn Bergman; Dori Caymmi; Nelson Motta) 04:00
4  So Many Stars (Alan Bergman; Marilyn Bergman; Sergio Mendes) 04:02
5  Photograph (Dori Caymmi; Paulo Cesar Pinheiro; Tracy Mann) 04:34
6  Who’s Counting Heartaches (Ina Wolf; Peter Wolf) 04:20
7  Your Smile (Dori Caymmi; Paulo Cesar Pinheiro; Ina Wolf) 04:26
8  Wanting More (Fernando Leporace; Tracy Mann) 03:22
9  We Can Try Love Again (Dori Caymmi; Tracy Mann) 04:32
10  Flower Of Bahia (Dori Caymmi; Tracy Mann; Paulo Cesar Pinheiro) 04:11



BassJimmy Johnson
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarDori Caymmi
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
VocalsJohnny Mathis

Other Musicians

6 Who’s Counting Heartaches

VocalsDionne Warwick

Liner Notes

Producer – Sergio Mendes
Arranged By – Dori Caymmi
Arranged By – Robbie Buchanan (Tracks 2, 6, 7, 8)