1981 Norman Connors – Mr. C

Mr.C is the 12th album by Norman Connors, released in 1981 on Arista.

Norman Connors (born March 1, 1947) is an American jazz drummer, composer, arranger, and producer who has led some influential jazz and R&B groups. He also achieved several big R&B hits of the day, especially with love ballads. He is possibly best known for the 1976 hit, “You Are My Starship” on which lead vocals were sung by Michael Henderson.



1  She’s Gone (Nigel Martinez) 04:56
2  Party Town (Len Ron Hanks; Zane Grey; Quentin Bernard Jennings) 05:04
3  Keep Doin’ It (Nigel Martinez) 05:25
4  Stay With Me (Nigel Martinez) 03:18
5  Anyway You Want (Sandy Torano) 03:27
6  Sing A Love Song (Jacques Burvick; Marion Meadows) 05:20
7  Love’s In Your Corner (Paul Tillman Smith) 04:34
8  Mr. C (The Starship Orchestra) 04:26



BassNathan East
BassPee Wee Ford
DrumsNorman Connors
DrumsDave Spann
DrumsDennis Davis
GuitarGeorge Doering
GuitarMarlo Henderson
GuitarMitch Holder
GuitarNate Winfield
KeyboardsDean Gant
KeyboardsJacques Burvick
PercussionGary Coleman
PercussionKenny Hudson
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
PercussionNorman Connors
FlugelhornDuke Jones
SaxGary Herbig
SaxWilliam Green
SaxMarion Meadows
TromboneAlan Kaplan
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TromboneGarnett Brown
TrumpetChuck Findley
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetWalter Johnson
TrumpetDuke Jones
Background VocalsDarlene Coleman
Background VocalsHoward McCrary
Background VocalsJean Carn
Background VocalsLilian Tynes
Background VocalsLisa Roberts
Background VocalsMaxine Anderson
Background VocalsMortonette Jenkins
Background VocalsPhyllis St. James
VocalsNorman Connors

Other Musicians

6 Sing A Love Song

VocalsGlenn Jones

7 Love’s In Your Corner

DrumsLeon Chancler
SynthesizerOnaje Allan Gumbs
ProgrammingPeter Cannarozzi
FlugelhornVictor Paz
FlugelhornKamau Adilifu
FluteSeldon Powell
FluteArt Webb
FluteGeorge Barrow
VocalsDerick Hughes
VocalsJean Carn

8 Mr. C

TromboneRobin Eubanks

Liner Notes

Producer – Norman Connors
Arranged By – Benjamin Wright, Jacques Burvick, McKinley Jackson, Onaje Allan Gumbs
Arranged By (Horns & Strings) – Onaje Allan Gumbs (Track 6)
Arranged By (Horns) – Duke Jones, Marion Meadows (Track 8)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Jacques Burvick, Norman Connors, Phyllis St. James
Concertmaster – Harry Bluestone
Concertmaster – Seldon Powell (Track 7)
Contractor (Strings) – Benjamin Barrett
Contractor (Vocals) – Norman Connors, Phyllis St. James
Conductor – Benjamin Wright (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5)
Conductor – McKinley Jackson (Tracks 2, 7, 9)
Conductor – Jacques Burvick, Norman Connors (Tracks 6, 8)
Engineer (Additional Recording) – Chris Howard, Darroll Gustamachio
Engineer (Assistant) – Bob Winard, Mark Sacket, Tom Cunnings, Vicky Milgrom
Engineer (Recording, Mixing) – Mallory Earl

Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Recorded At – Sound Mixers
Mastered At – Artisan Sound Recorders
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Arista Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Arista Records, Inc.