1978 Duncan Browne – The Wild Places

The Wild Places is the third studio album by English singer-songwriter and musician Duncan Browne. Released in 1978 through Logo and Sire Records, it is Browne’s first solo album since his departure from the band Metro that year, and features contributions from session musicians Tony Hymas, John Giblin and Simon Phillips. In contrast to his previous self-titled solo record, the sound of the album is fully electric and ranges from progressive rock to straightforward rock music and synthpop.

The record achieved moderate commercial success. It has been long out of print in the United States and was reissued during late 2000 in Japan.


1  The Wild Places (Duncan Browne) 06:03
2  Roman Vecu (Duncan Browne) 04:46
3  Camino Real (Parts 1,2 & 3) (Duncan Browne; John Giblin; Simon Phillips; Tony Hymas) 08:29
4  Samurai (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin) 04:31
5  Kisarazu (Duncan Browne) 07:11
6  The Crash (Duncan Browne) 03:55
7  Planet Earth (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin) 06:26



BassJohn Giblin
DrumsSimon Phillips
GuitarDuncan Browne
Acoustic GuitarDuncan Browne
SynthesizerTony Hymas
PercussionDuncan Browne
PercussionSimon Phillips
Background VocalsRay Hendriksen
VocalsDuncan Browne

Other Musicians

 3 Camino Real (Parts 1,2 & 3)

PianoSimon Phillips

Liner Notes

Producer – Duncan Browne
Arranged By (Strings, Synthesizer) – Tony Hymas
Engineer – Ray Hendriksen

Cover, Photography By – Roger Saunders
Design – Jean Luke Epstein

Copyright (c) – Logo Records
Recorded At – Scorpio Sound
Mixed At – Scorpio Sound
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Logo Records
Marketed By – Logo Records