1976 Metro – Metro

The selftitled Metro album was their debut album, releases in 1976

Peter Godwin is a new wave musician who was part of the band Metro, as well as a solo artist and songwriter.
His work includes “Criminal World” which was covered by David Bowie and 1982’s “Images of Heaven” which was a “cult favorite on new wave radio stations”. The dance remix of his song “Baby’s in the Mountains” was a big dance hit and described as “intricate but direct”. Godwin’s 1983 solo studio album, Correspondence was issued by Polydor Records.

Duncan John Browne (25 March 1947 — 28 May 1993) was an English singer-songwriter.
In the 1970s, Browne formed band Metro with Peter Godwin and released some records in the US on the Sire label. He released two solo albums: The Wild Places and Streets of Fire. The song “The Wild Places” was a hit single in the Netherlands. From the same period, Browne’s co-composed song “Criminal World” was recorded by David Bowie on his 1983 Let’s Dance album.


1  Criminal World (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin; Sean Lyons) 05:25
2  Precious (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin) 03:00
3  Overture To Flame / Flame (Duncan Browne; Sean Lyons) 08:26
4  Mono Messiah (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin) 04:01
5  Black Lace Shoulder (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin) 04:28
6  Paris (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin; Sean Lyons) 05:55
7  One-Way Night (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin) 03:17
8  Jade (Duncan Browne; Peter Godwin; Sean Lyons) 04:39



BassJohn Giblin
DrumsSimon Phillips
GuitarDuncan Browne
GuitarSean Lyons
KeyboardsDuncan Browne
SynthesizerPeter Godwin
VibraphoneDuncan Browne
PercussionSimon Phillips
PercussionDuncan Browne

Other Musicians

1 Criminal World

PercussionPeter Godwin

4 Mono Messiah

VocalsBarry Husband

5 Black Lace Shoulder

ViolinGraham Preskett

8 Jade

BassDuncan Browne

Liner Notes

Producer – Metro, Peter Sames
Arranged By – Metro
Arranged By (Choirs ) – Duncan Browne
Arranged By (Strings) – Duncan Browne, Sean Lyons
Arranged By (Vocals) – Duncan Browne, Peter Godwin
Effects – Sean Lyons

Art Direction – Bob Franks, Metro
Design – Paul Chave
Photography – Sanders

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Transatlantic Records Ltd.
Published By – Heathside Music Ltd.