1974 The Doobie Brothers – What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits

What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits is the fourth studio album by American rock band The Doobie Brothers. The album was released on February 1, 1974, by Warner Bros. Records.

om Johnston’s “Another Park, Another Sunday” was chosen to be the album’s first single. “It’s about losing a girl,” stated Johnston. “I wrote the chords and played it on acoustic, and then Ted Templeman had some ideas for it, like running the guitars through Leslie speakers.” The song did moderately well on the charts, peaking at #32.

The second single released was “Eyes of Silver”, another Johnston penned tune. According to him, “Wordwise, that one really isn’t that spectacular. I wrote them at the last minute.” That song didn’t have much success on the charts either, peaking at only #52. Grasping for chart action, Warner Brothers re-released the band’s first single, “Nobody”, backed with Tiran Porter’s instrumental “Flying Cloud”. This release was soon overshadowed when radio stations discovered “Black Water”. Other stations joined in and the song was officially released as a single that went on to sell over a million copies and became the Doobie Brothers’ first #1 hit. “Black Water” had been featured as the B-side of “Another Park, Another Sunday” eight months earlier.


1  Song To See You Through (Tom Johnston) 04:07
2  Spirit (Tom Johnston) 03:16
3  Pursuit on 53rd St. (Tom Johnston) 02:35
4  Black Water (Patrick Simmons) 04:21
Eyes of Silver(Tom Johnston) 03:00
6  Road Angel (The Doobie Brothers) 04:48
7  You Just Can’t Stop It (Patrick Simmons) 03:31
8  Tell Me What You Want (And I’ll Give You What You Need) (Patrick Simmons) 03:55
9  Down In The Track (Tom Johnston) 04:17
10  Another Park, Another Sunday (Tom Johnston) 04:31
11  Daughters Of The Sea (Patrick Simmons) 04:34
12  Flying Cloud (Tiran Porter) 01:59

The Band

BassTiran Porter
DrumsMichael Hossack
DrumsJohn Hartman
GuitarTom Johnston
GuitarPatrick Simmons
Acoustic GuitarTom Johnston
Acoustic GuitarPatrick Simmons
AutoharpArlo Guthrie
PercussionTed Templeman
Background VocalsKeith Knudsen
VocalsTom Johnston
VocalsPatrick Simmons

Other Musicians

1 Song To See You Through

OrganBill Payne
HornsThe Memphis Horns

2 Spirit

ViolaNovi Novog

3 Pursuit on 53rd St.

PianoBill Payne

4 Black Water

ViolaNovi Novog
MarimbaMilt Holland

5 Eyes of Silver

KeyboardsBill Payne
HornsThe Memphis Horns

6 Road Angel

PercussionEddie Guzman

7 You Just Can’t Stop It

ClavinetBill Payne
HornsThe Memphis Horns
PercussionEddie Guzman

8 Tell Me What You Want (And I’ll Give You What You Need)

GuitarJeff Baxter
MarimbaMilt Holland
TablasMilt Holland

9 Down In The Track

PianoJames Booker

10 Another Park, Another Sunday

MarimbaMilt Holland

11 Daughters Of The Sea

PercussionEddie Guzman
PercussionMilt Holland

12 Flying Cloud

SynthesizerBill Payne

Liner Notes

Producer – Ted Templeman
Arranged By (Horns) – Andrew Love, The Memphis Horns, Wayne Jackson
Engineer – Donn Landee
Engineer (Additional) – Lee Herschberg

Art Direction, Design – Chas Barbour
Photography – Dan Fong

Recorded At – Warner Bros. Studios
Recorded At – The Burbank Studios
Mastered At – Warner Bros. Studios
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records