1985 Lodgic – Normandic Sands

Lodgic was a United States rock band who released one album, Nomadic Sands (1985).
The band was formed in Las Vegas by childhood friends Michael Sherwood (keyboards, backing vocals) and Jimmy Haun (guitar) with Gary Starnes (drums) and Mike Hulsey (keyboards). They later moved to Los Angeles. Guy Allison joined on keyboards, as did Michael’s younger brother Billy Sherwood at the age of 16 in 1981.

After many years of trying to get things together, they recorded their debut and sole album Nomadic Sands, released in 1985 on A&M Records, performed by the Sherwoods, Haun, Allison and Starnes. The album was co-produced by Steve Porcaro and David Paich (both of Toto). Although the album failed to chart in the U.S., the first single “Lonely Man” was featured in the movie Prince of Bel Air, starring Mark Harmon and Kirstie Alley.

Lodgic opened some dates for Supertramp, but the band came to an end, evolving into World Trade with Billy Sherwood and Allison.While the band’s output was limited, its legacy was in future collaborations. As well as World Trade, both Sherwoods and Haun later worked with Yes, all three appearing on Union. Billy Sherwood and Haun later worked together in The Key, The Chris Squire Experiment and Circa.


1  Romance (David Paich; Jimmy Haun; Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 04:26
2  Step Back (Jimmy Haun; Michael Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 03:59
3  Lonely Man (Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 04:32
4  Red Light (Jimmy Haun; Michael Sherwood; Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 04:15
5  Rise And Fall (Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 03:59
6  Push So Hard (Jimmy Haun; Michael Sherwood; Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 05:17
7  In The Cards (Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 04:16
8  Nomadic Sands (Jimmy Haun; Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 04:09
9  Linda Sue (Jimmy Haun; Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 04:25
10  Bringing Me Back (Jimmy Haun; Billy Sherwood; Guy Allison Steiner) 03:25



BassBilly Sherwood
DrumsGary Starnes
GuitarJimmy Shaun
KeyboardsMichael Sherwood
KeyboardsMike Hulsey
PercussionLenny Castro
VocalsBilly Sherwood
VocalsGary Starnes
VocalsJimmy Shaun
VocalsMichael Sherwood
VocalsMike Hulsey

Liner Notes

Producer – David Paich, Steve Porcaro, Tom Knox
Engineer – Greg Ladanyi, Tom Fletcher, Tom Knox
Engineer (Assistant) – Arthur Kelm, Bill Jackson, Bobby Scmiely, Brooke Glaser, Coke Johnson, Doug Schwartz, Duane Seykora, Jon Dressel, Richard Bosworth, Sharon Rice, Tom Lalley, Troy Krueger
Mastered By – Doug Sax, Mike Reese
Mixed By – Tom Fletcher, Tom Knox

Art Direction – Chuck Beeson
Design – Donald Krieger
Photography By – Ed Colver

Phonographic Copyright (p) – A&M Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – A&M Records, Inc.
Recorded At – Record One, Los Angeles
Recorded At – The Sound Factory
Recorded At – The Villa
Recorded At – Manor Studio, Los Angeles
Mixed At – The Complex
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Pressed By – Electrosound Group Midwest, Inc.