1980 The Strand – The Strand

The Strand self titled album was released in 1980 and produced by Jeffrey Porcaro, who also played the drums on the track Can’t Look Back (uncredited). The Strand later did some opening acts for Toto (Hydra Tour).

Kelly Shanahan commented on Facebook:

Seems like yesterday, we were at Sunset Sound in Studio B working on basic tracks for The Strand album and Toto was in Studio A mixing Hydra and doing overdubs. When we were on breaks we would go over and hang and check out their mixes. Damn they sounded so great on those big speakers in Studio A. Jeff was usually in Studio B producing us, but one day he had to run over to studio A for about 10 minutes and when he got back we were just finishing cutting a track. (Just a Little More Time) He said he loved it and wanted to add some timbales. So we took a break and had fun watching him overdub timbales. Then he called Lenny Castro and had him add some more percussion. I sure miss my brother Jeff…..Rest in peace Jeff and Mike….


1  Rock It Tonight (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Peter Reilich) 04:08
2  Long Hot Summer (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Peter Reilich) 03:28
3  I Like It Like That (Scott Shelly; David Batteau) 03:42
4  Just A Little More Time (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Rick Calhoun) 04:56
5  Prisoners In Paradise (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Peter Reilich) 04:39
6  Stay Away From My Girl (Scott Shelly; David Batteau) 03:49
7  Frustration (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Rick Calhoun) 03:37
8  Children Of The Night (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Rick Calhoun) 03:18
9  Dirty Little Girl (Scott Shelly; David Batteau) 04:21
10  Can’t Look Back (Scott Shelly; David Batteau; Jeffrey Porcaro) 05:29



BassDean Cortez
DrumsKelly Shanahan
GuitarScott Shelley
VocalsRick Calhoun
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
SaxJim Horn
PercussionLenny Castro


10 Can’t Look Back

DrumsJeffrey Porcaro

Liner Notes

Producer – Jeffrey Porcaro
Engineer (Remix) – Chris Blackwell
Mixed By – Kent Nebergall
Recorded By – Kent Nebergall

Art Direction – Richard Seireeni
Design – Jeffrey Porcaro, Scott Shelly, Jim Hagopian
Photography By – Jim Hagopian

Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Pressed By – Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Mixed At – Sunset Sound
Remixed At – Compass Point Studios