1978 The Alpha Band – The Statue Makers Of Hollywood

The Statue Makers of Hollywood is the third and final album by The Alpha Band. It was released in 1978.

The Alpha Band was a rock band formed in July 1976 from the remnants of Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Revue. Band members were T-Bone Burnett, Steven Soles, and David Mansfield, plus sidemen who differed from record to record and included: David Kemper (later drummer for Bob Dylan and Jerry Garcia Band); gospel great Andraé Crouch; and former Beatle Ringo Starr.

The Alpha Band reputedly signed a huge-money deal with Arista Records, Clive Davis’s label. But their three albums were remarkably obscure, even upon release: almost straight to the cut out bin. Somehow, the Alphas never gained traction. The group is now recalled mostly as a launching pad for Mansfield, and even more for launching Burnett. Soles went behind the scenes and retired as an artist while writing and producing for films and television. When the band disbanded in 1979, all three members began producing albums for other artists.


1  Tick Tock (David Mansfield; Steven Soles; T-Bone Burnett) 08:03
2  Rich Man (T-Bone Burnett) 07:06
3  Mighty Man (T-Bone Burnett) 05:11
4  Perverse Generation (T-Bone Burnett) 04:34
5  Two Sisters (David Carson; Steven Soles) 03:41
6  Two People In The Modern World (Steven Soles) 03:52
7  Back In My Baby’s Arms Again (T-Bone Burnett) 04:01
8  Thank God (Hank Williams) 03:44



Bass David Miner
Bass Rob Stoner
Drums Bill Maxwell
Guitar T-Bone Burnett
Guitar David Mansfield
Guitar Steven Soles
Guitar Stephen Bruton
Mandolin David Mansfield
Organ David Mansfield
Piano T-Bone Burnett
Piano Steven Soles
Horn David Duke
Horn Alan Robinson
Sax Scott Page
Sax James Well Gordon
Sax Jerry Peterson
Sax Jerry Jumonville
Trombone David Hungate
Trombone Jim Price
Trumpet Larry Ford
Trumpet Roy Poper
Trumpet Jay Pruitt
Percussion Lee Pastora
Background Vocals Bill Thedford
Background Vocals James Felix
Background Vocals Daniel Moore
Background Vocals Perry Morgan
Background Vocals Cindy Bullens
Background Vocals Andrae Crouch
Background Vocals Jessy Dixon


Christ Memorial Church Of God In Christ Radio Choir

Liner Notes

Producer – Larry Hirsch, The Alpha Band
Producer (Associate) – Jeff Raven
Producer (Executive) – Roger Birnbaum
Arranged By (Background Vocals And Choir) – Andrae Crouch
Arranged By (Horns) – Darrell Leonard
Engineer – Larry Hirsch, T-Bone Burnett
Engineer (Associate) – David Gertz, Dennis Moody
Mastered By – John Golden

Art Direction – John Fleming
Calligraphy – Melanie Marder

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Arista Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Arista Records, Inc.
Recorded At – Wally Heider Studios
Recorded At – Paramount Recording Studios
Mastered At – Kendun Recorders
Lacquer Cut At – Kendun Recorders
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Santa Maria