1988 Denise LaSalle – Hittin’ Where It Hurts

Hittin’ Where It Hurts is an album by singer Denise LaSalle, released in 1988.

Ora Denise Allen (July 16, 1939 – January 8, 2018), known by the stage name Denise LaSalle, was an American blues, R&B and soul singer, songwriter, and record producer who, since the death of Koko Taylor, had been recognized as the “Queen of the Blues”.

Her best known songs were “Trapped by a Thing Called Love” and “Down Home Blues”.


1  Don’t Cry No More (Deadric Malone) 05:06
2  Write This One Off (As A Loss) (Denise LaSalle) 05:05
3  Caught In Your Own Mess (Brownie McGhee; Denise LaSalle; Harvey Thompson; Shawn Lee) 04:36
4  Bring It On Home To Me (Sam Cooke) 04:59
5  Eee Tee (George Jackson) 04:10
6  If You Can’t Do Me Right (Denise LaSalle) 04:04
7  See-Saw (Stephanie Gold; Steve Gold) 03:53
8  You Gottta Pay To Play (Denise LaSalle; George Jackson) 04:04
9  I Forgot To Remember (Denise LaSalle) 03:56



BassDwayne Thomas
BassRay Griffin
DrumsJames Robertson
GuitarKenny Ray Knight
GuitarMichael Toles
KeyboardsCarson Whitsett
KeyboardsKurt Clayton
KeyboardsMarvell Thomas
HornsCharles Rose
HornsGary Armstrong
HornsHarrison Calloway
HornsLannie McMillan
HornsHarvey Thompson
HornsJim Horn
HornsMike Haynes
VocalsDenise LaSalle

Liner Notes

Producer – Denise LaSalle, Marvell Thomas
Producer – Roger Hawkins (Tracks 3, 7, 8)
Producer – Tommy Couch, Wolf Stephenson (Track 5)
Producer – Vicki Lancaster (Track 7)
Arranged By (Horns) – Charles Rose (Tracks 3, 8),
Arranged By (Horns) – The Muscle Shoals Horns (Track 7)
Arranged By, Sampler – Marvell Thomas
Engineer (Recording) – Robert Jackson, Vicki Lancaster, Wolf Stephenson
Engineer (Remix) – Vicki Lancaster, Wolf Stephenson

Design – Bill Tyler
Photography By – Kelly Craig

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Malaco Records
Copyright (c) – Malaco Records
Manufactured By – Malaco Records & Tapes
Distributed By – Malaco Records & Tapes
Recorded At – Muscle Shoals Sound Studios
Recorded At – Malaco Studios
Remixed At – Muscle Shoals Sound Studios