1968 Mahalia Jackson – Christmas With Mahalia

Christmas With Mahalia is an album by Mahalia Jackson, released in 1968.

Mahalia Jackson (October 26, 1911 – January 27, 1972) was an American gospel singer. Possessing a contralto voice, she was referred to as “The Queen of Gospel”. She became one of the most influential gospel singers in the world and was heralded internationally as a singer and civil rights activist.[5] She was described by entertainer Harry Belafonte as “the single most powerful black woman in the United States”. She recorded about 30 albums (mostly for Columbia Records) during her career, and her 45 rpm records included a dozen “golds”—million-sellers.


1  It Came Upon The Midnight Clear 03:24
2  O Holy Night (Adolphe Adam) 03:32
3  The First Noel 02:40
4  No Room At The Inn (Brad Browne; Jack Scholl) 03:49
5  Silver Bells (Jay Livingston; Raymond Evans) 02:33
6  Happy Birthday To You, Our Lord (Eleanor Zeller; Phil Zeller) 02:32
7  What Child Is This 04:19
8  White Christmas (Irving Berlin) 04:06
9  Do You Hear What I Hear (Gloria Shayne; Noel Regney) 02:20
10  Lo, How A Rose E’er Blooming 04:38


Liner Notes

Producer – Irving Thompson
Arranged By – Marty Paich
Arranged By – Mahalia Jackson (Track 7)
Conducted By – Marty Paich
Engineer – William E Brittan

Photography By – Frank Bez

Record Company – Columbia
Manufactured By – Columbia Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Frank Bez
Copyright (c) – Columbia