1985 Starship – Knee Deep In The Hoopla

Knee Deep In The Hoopla is the debut studio album by American AOR band Starship, the succeeding musical project to Jefferson Starship. It was released on September 10, 1985, through record label Grunt.

Four singles were released from the album: the No. 1 hits “We Built This City” and “Sara”, “Tomorrow Doesn’t Matter Tonight” and “Before I Go”.


We Built This City (Bernie Taupin; Dennis Lambert; Martin Page; Peter Wolf) 04:56
Sara (Ina Wolf; Peter Wolf) 04:52
Tomorrow Doesn’t Matter Tonight (Robin Randall; Steven Cristol) 03:41
4  Rock Myself To Sleep (Kimberly Rew; Vince De La Cruz) 03:27
5  Desparate Heart (Michael Bolton; Randy Goodrum) 04:06
6  Private Room (Craig Chaquico; Mickey Thomas) 04:52
Before I Go (David Roberts) 05:14
8  Hearts Of The World (Will Understand) (Arthur Stead; Stephen Broughton Lunt) 04:23
9  Love Rusts (Bernie Taupin; Martin Page) 04:58


BassPete Sears
DrumsDonny Baldwin
GuitarCraig Chaquico
KeyboardsPeter Wolf
VocalsDonny Baldwin
VocalsGrace Slick
VocalsMickey Thomas

Other Musicians

3 Tomorrow Doesn’t Matter Tonight

Background VocalsIna Wolf
Background VocalsJC Crowley
Background VocalsPeter Beckett
Background VocalsSiedah Garrett

4 Rock Myself To Sleep

VocalsKevin Dubrow

5 Desparate Heart

Background VocalsDave Jenkins

9 Love Rusts

Background VocalsChris Sutton
Background VocalsIna Wolf
Background VocalsJC Crowley
Background VocalsLorraine Devon
Background VocalsMartin Page
Background VocalsOren Waters
Background VocalsPeter Beckett
Background VocalsPhillip Ingram
Background VocalsSiedah Garrett
Background VocalsSimon Climie

Liner Notes

Producer – Jeremy Smith, Peter Wolf
Producer (Executive) – Dennis Lambert
Arranged By – Peter Wolf
Engineer – Jeremy Smith
Engineer (Additional Engineering) – Tom Size
Engineer (Assistant Engineer) – Dana Jon Chappelle, David Luke, Maureen Droney, Paul Ericksen
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen
Mixed By – Bill Bottrell (Tracks 1)

Artwork, Design – Raess Design, Ted Raess
Photography By – Bill Robbins

Phonographic Copyright (p) – RCA/Ariola International
Copyright (c) – RCA/Ariola International
Pressed By – RCA Records Pressing Plant, Indianapolis
Recorded At – The Plant Studios
Recorded At – Music Grinder Studios
Mixed At – Fantasy Studios
Remixed At – Soundcastle
Mastered At – Precision Lacquer