1978 Norma Jean – Norma Jean

Norma Jean is the debut, and only, solo studio album by American R&B singer Norma Jean Wright, released on Bearsville Records in 1978. The album was produced by Bernard Edwards and Nile Rodgers of the band Chic, and was the project directly following the band’s successful self-titled debut album Chic, which featured Wright on vocals.

Norma Jean includes the singles “Saturday”, a US R&B Top 20 hit (#15) in July 1978, “Having A Party” and “Sorcerer”, and was followed by non-album single “High Society” (R&B #19, January 1980), also produced by the Chic team. Another track from the album, “I Like Love,” was later sampled in Solitaire’s 2004 single “I Like Love (I Love Love).”

The album was reissued on CD with five bonus tracks by Sequel Records in 2000. The CD was soon out of print and commanded high prices on the collectors’ market until reissued again in 2011 with the 7″ versions of “Sorcerer” and “Having a Party” added.

The album’s best-known original song is “Saturday”, which besides being a club hit in its own right, has produced charting cover versions by East 57th St featuring Donna Allen (1997, UK #29), Joey Negro featuring Taka Boom (2000, UK #41) and 100% featuring Jennifer John (2004, UK #28).


1  Saturday (Bernard Edwards; Nile Rodgers; Robert Cotter) 06:07
2  Having A Party (Sam Cooke) 04:31
3  I Believe In You (Chris Dawkins; Norman Whitfield) 05:12
4  Sorcerer (Bernard Edwards; Nile Rodgers) 05:01
5  So I Get Hurt Again (Bernard Edwards; Nile Rodgers) 04:50
6  This Is The Love (Denzil Miller; Norma Jean Wright) 03:08
7  I Like Love (Bernard Edwards; Nile Rodgers) 05:47



BassBernard Edwards
DrumsTony Thompson
GuitarNile Rodgers
PianoRaymond Jones
PianoRob Sabino
SaxAlex Foster
TromboneBarry Rogers
TrumpetJon Faddis
VibraphoneDavid Friedman
PercussionSammy Figueroa
Background VocalsAlfa Anderson
Background VocalsDavid Lasley
Background VocalsDiva Gray
Background VocalsLuther Vandross
VocalsNorma Jean Wright

Liner Notes

Producer – Nile Rodgers, Bernard Edwards
Producer (Executive) – Marc Kreiner, Tom Cossie
Arranged By – Nile Rodgers, Bernard Edwards
Conductor (Strings) – Gene Orloff
Engineer – Bob Clearmountain
Engineer (Assistant) – Raymond Willard
Mastered By – Dennis King
Mixed By – Nile Rodgers, Bernard Edwards, Bob Clearmountain

Design – Gribbitt!
Photography By – Norman Seeff

Recorded At – Power Station
Mastered At – Atlantic Studios
Manufactured By – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Bearsville Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Bearsville Records