1971 Dory Previn – Reflections In A Mud Puddle

Reflections in a Mud Puddle was the third solo LP by Dory Previn, released in late 1971. The second side of the original LP was entitled Taps Tremors And Time Steps (One Last Dance For My Father), and was a continuous suite of songs reflecting on her childhood experiences with a mentally ill father and its impact on her adult relationships.


1  Doppelgänger (Dory Previn) 02:29
2  The New Enzyme Detergent Demise of Ali (Dory Previn) 03:02
3  The Talkative Woman and The Two Star General (Dory Previn) 04:52
4  The Altruist and the Needy Case (Dory Previn) 04:52
5  Play It Again, Sam (Dory Previn) 03:28
6  The Earthquake in Los Angeles (February, 1971) (Dory Previn) 02:03
7  The Final Flight Of The Hindenburg (May, 1937) (Dory Previn) 03:10
8  I Dance And Dance And Smile And Smile (Dory Previn) 03:12
9  The Air Crash In New Jersey (Dory Previn) 01:06
10  Aftershock (Dory Previn) 02:22



BassCarol Kaye
BassJoe Osborn
BassLyle Ritz
DrumsEarl Palmer
DrumsFrank Capp
DrumsPaul Humphrey
DrumsRon Tutt
GuitarDavid Cohen
GuitarDennis Budimir
GuitarDon Peake
GuitarLouie Shelton
GuitarTommy Tedesco
GuitarWill Keene
BanjoLouie Shelton
HarpsichordTom Keene
KeyboardsTom Keene
PianoTom Keene
PianoPerry Botkin Jr
PianoMike Lang
FlugelhornPaul Hubinon
SaxAbe Most
SaxSteve Douglas
SaxGene Cipriano
SaxTed Nash
TromboneDick Nash
TromboneDick Hyde
TrumpetBuck Monari
TrumpetTony Terran
TrumpetPaul Hubinon
Background VocalsJohn Bahler
Background VocalsStan Farber
Background VocalsTom Bahler


Armand Kaproff, Gareth Nuttycombe, Gerald Vinci, Harry Bluestone, Israel Baker, Jack Shulman, James Getzoff, Jesse Ehrlich, Joseph DiFiore, Joseph Stepansky, Lou Klass, Murray Adler, Nathan Kaproff, Nathan Ross, Paul Shure, Ray Kelley, Sidney Sharp, William Kurasch

Liner Notes

Producer – Nick Venet
Arranged By (Fish Horn) – Dan Morehouse
Arranged By (String & Horns) – Perry Botkin Jr
Contractor – Steve Douglas
Copyist – Roger E. Farris
Engineer – Buck Herring

Painting (Cover Painting) – Robert Harvey
Photography By, Art Direction – Norman Seeff

Printed By – E.J. Day Group
Made By – E.J. Day Group
Manufactured By – Liberty/United Artists Records Ltd.
Published By – United Artists
Recorded At – Sunwest Studios
Mastered At – Artisan Sound Recorders
Copyright (c) – United Artists Music
Pressed By – The Gramophone Co. Ltd.