1968 Richard Harris – A Tramp Shining

A Tramp Shining is the debut album of Richard Harris, released in 1968 by Dunhill Records. The album was written, arranged, and produced by singer-songwriter Jimmy Webb. Although Harris sang several numbers on the soundtrack album to the film musical Camelot the previous year, A Tramp Shining was Harris’ first solo album. “MacArthur Park” was one of the biggest singles of that year, reaching #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the United States. The album as a whole was also highly successful, and was nominated for a Grammy Award for “Album of the Year” in 1969


1  Didn’t We (Jimmy Webb) 02:56
2  Paper Chase (Jimmy Webb) 02:50
3  Name Of My Sorrow (Jimmy Webb) 03:52
4  Lovers Such As I (Jimmy Webb) 04:05
5  In The Final Hours (Jimmy Webb) 02:42
MacArthur Park (Jimmy Webb) 07:30
7  Dancing Girl (Jimmy Webb) 02:11
8  If You Must Leave My Life (Jimmy Webb) 03:16
9  A Tramp Shining (Jimmy Webb) 02:28


BassJoe Osborn
DrumsHal Blaine
GuitarMike Deasy
GuitarTommy Tedesco
HarpsichordLarry Knechtel
KeyboardsLarry Knechtel
OrganLarry Knechtel
SaxJim Horn
TrumpetJules Chaikin
PercussionHal Blaine
VocalsRichard Harris

Liner Notes

Producer – Jimmy Webb
Producer (Executive) – William F Williams
Arranged By – Jimmy Webb
Arranged By (Strings) – Sidney Sharp
Engineer – Armin Steiner, Peter Himmelman

Art Direction, Design – Gary Burden
Photography By – Henry Diltz, Patrick Ward

Copyright (c) – Radio Corporation Of America
Printed By – Robert Stace
Made By – The Decca Record Company Limited