1990 The Meeting – The Meeting

The Meeting was the first album release from a collaboration of musicians R&B keyboardist/singer Patrice Rushen, saxophonist Ernie Watts, bassist Alphonso Johnson and drummer Leon “Ndugu” Chancler. The recording was the end product of several years of live interaction between the four, often backing other artists. The album is representative of early ’90s jazz fusion. The band would record a follow-up entitled Update (without Johnson) which was released in 1995 on the little-known Hip-Bop label. It has been out of print for many years and remains a rare find. Patrice Rushen’s next solo album would be Anything but Ordinary in 1994.


1  Groove Now And Then (Patrice Rushen) 05:01
2  Walk Your Talk (Leon Chancler; Alphonso Johnson; Patrice Rushen; Ernie Watts) 04:31
3  Steppin’ Out (Leon Chancler; Alphonso Johnson) 05:23
4  And I Think About It All The Time (Ernie Watts; Ray Dewey) 10:41
5  The Meeting (Patrice Rushen) 05:07
6  African Flower (Duke Ellington) 05:24
7  Joyful Noise (Ernie Watts; Bob Boykin) 05:23
8  Cherry Blossom (Patrice Rushen) 04:56
9  Lowness (Leon Chancler) 04:43



BassAlphonso Johnson
DrumsLeon Chancler
KeyboardsPatrice Rushen
SaxErnie Watts
PercussionLeon Chancler

Liner Notes

Producer – The Meeting
Engineer (Assistant) – Tim Andersen
Mastered By – John Golden
Mixed By – F. Byron Clark
Recorded By – F Byron Clark

Photography – Carl Studna
Design – Dan Serrano, David Gibb, Andy Ruggirello, Jacki McCarthy

Recorded At – Fox Run Studios
Mixed At – Fox Run Studios
Mastered At – K Disc Mastering