1984 Nik Kershaw – Human Racing

Human Racing is the debut studio album by the English singer-songwriter Nik Kershaw. It was originally released in February 1984, on the label MCA. Several songs like “Drum Talk” were based around improvisation; other songs, like “I Won’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me”, had a political message.

Kershaw’s most commercially successful solo album, it went on to peak at No. 5 on the UK Albums Chart and reached No. 35 on the Australian ARIA Charts. The album also reached the top ten in several other countries including Germany, Finland, and Norway. The album launched four charting singles in the UK. “Wouldn’t It Be Good” peaked at No. 4 on the UK Singles Chart; “Dancing Girls” peaked at No. 13; “I Won’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” at No. 2; “Human Racing” at No. 19. The album was the 22nd highest selling album of 1984 in the UK and received a nomination for Best British Album at the 1985 Brit Awards. The album was certified multi-platinum by the BPI.


1  Dancing Girls (Nik Kershaw) 03:49
Wouldn’t It Be Good (Nik Kershaw) 04:34
3  Drum Talk (Nik Kershaw) 03:12
4  Bogart (Nik Kershaw) 04:40
5  Gone To Pieces (Nik Kershaw) 03:12
6  Shame On You (Nik Kershaw) 03:37
7  Cloak And Dagger (Nik Kershaw) 04:58
8  Faces (Nik Kershaw) 04:07
9  I Won’t Let The Sun Go Down On (Nik Kershaw) 03:24
10  Human Racing (Nik Kershaw) 04:28


BassNik Kershaw
DrumsCharlie Morgan
GuitarNik Kershaw
KeyboardsNik Kershaw
KeyboardsDon Snow
KeyboardsNick Glennie-Smith
KeyboardsReg Webb
HornsBill Reichenbach
HornsGary Grant
HornsJerry Hey
HornsKim Hutchcroft
HornsLarry Williams
PercussionNik Kershaw
PercussionMartin Ditcham
VocalsNik Kershaw

Other Musicians

8 Faces

Background VocalsSheri Kershaw

9 I Won’t Let The Sun Go Down On

BassPaul Westwood

Liner Notes

Producer – Peter Collins
Arranged By – Nik Kershaw
Arranged By (Horns) – Jerry Hey
Arranged By (Horns) – Nik Kershaw (Track 2)
Engineer – Julian Mendelsohn
Recorded By – Julian Mendelsohn
Recorded By (Horns) – Bruce Robb
Recording Assistant – Bob Kraushaar, Keith Finney, Nick Campey, Roger Howorth, Stuart Bruce

Design, Artwork – Cream
Photography By – Iain McKell

Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – MCA Records, Inc.
Licensed To – MCA Records
Produced For – Loose End Productions
Recorded At – Sarm East Studios
Recorded At – Sarm West Studios
Recorded At – Marcus Recording Studios
Mixed At – Sarm East Studios
Pressed By – CBS Pressing Plant, Aston Clinton
Recorded At – Cherokee Studios