1989 Stuart Hamm – Kings Of Sleep

Kings Of Sleep is the second solo album released by bassist Stuart Hamm. It was released on June 19, 1989 on Relativity Records.

The title of the album and many of the songs were inspired by the novels and short stories of William Gibson, including Neuromancer (“Black Ice” and “Terminal Beach” are both references from that novel), Count Zero (referring to the name of the novel as well as the hacker handle of one of the protagonists), and the short story The Winter Market (Kings of Sleep is the name of a fictional stim-album in that story).


1  Black Ice (Stuart Hamm) 04:25
2  Surely The Best (Stuart Hamm) 05:26
3  Call Of The Wild (Stuart Hamm) 04:45
4  Terminal Beach (Stuart Hamm) 04:01
5  Count Zero (Stuart Hamm) 04:16
6  I Want To Know (Stuart Hamm) 05:46
7  Prelude In C (Johann Sebastian Bach) 02:34
8  Kings Of Sleep (Stuart Hamm; Kim Bullard) 08:28



BassStuart Hamm
DrumsJonathan Mover
KeyboardsScott Collard
PercussionAmy Knoles

Other Musicians

1 Black Ice

GuitarBuzzy Feiten

2 Surely The Best

GuitarHarry Cody

3 Call Of The Wild

GuitarHarry Cody

5 Count Zero

GuitarHarry Cody

6 I Want To Know

GuitarBuzzy Feiten

Liner Notes

Producer – Stuart Hamm
Engineer – Richard Landers
Mixed By – Richard Landers, Stuart Hamm

Art Direction – David Bett
Design – David Bett
Photography – Dick Zimmerman

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Food For Thought Records
Copyright (c) – Theory Music
Copyright (c) – Ubik Musik
Distributed By – Disques Vogue SA
Recorded At – The Mothership
Mixed At – The Mothership