1975 The Miracles – City Of Angels

City of Angels is an album by the Motown soul group The Miracles, released on Motown Records’ Tamla label in September 1975. The group’s fourth album recorded after replacing lead singer Smokey Robinson with Billy Griffin in 1972, City of Angels is a concept album, depicting of a man from “Anytown, U.S.A.” who follows his estranged girlfriend Charlotte to Los Angeles, where she has gone in hopes of becoming a star. All of the tracks on the album were written by Billy Griffin and Miracles bass singer Pete Moore. Freddie Perren and Moore served as the album’s producers.


1  Overture (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 03:12
2  City Of Angels (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 04:51
3  Free Press (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 03:15
4  Ain\’t Nobody Straight In L.A. (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 03:48
5  Night Life (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 04:27
6  Love Machine (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 07:42
7  My Name Is Michael (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 03:01
8  Poor Charlotte (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 06:06
9  Waldo Roderick DeHammersmith (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 03:08
10  Smog (Warren Moore; William Griffin) 05:19



BassScott Edwards
DrumsEd Greene
DrumsJames Gadson
GuitarBilly Griffin
GuitarDonald Griffin
GuitarGreg Poree
GuitarJay Graydon
KeyboardsJohn Barnes
SynthesizerJohn Barnes
SynthesizerFreddie Perren
VibraphoneFreddie Perren
VibraphoneVictor Feldman
PercussionEddie Brown
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsCarolyn Willis
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters

Liner Notes

Producer – Freddie Perren
Co-producer (Production Assistance) – Warren Moore
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Freddie Perren
Arranged By (Strings & Horns) – Wade Marcus (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Arranged By (Strings & Horns) – Freddie Perren (Tracks 4)
Arranged By (Vocals) – William Griffin, Warren Moore
Engineer (Mastering) – Jeff Sanders
Engineer (Recording) – Andrew Berliner, Kevin Beamish
Mastered By (Vinyl) – Joe Sidore

Graphics – Rod Dyer, Inc.
Photography By – Alan Bergman

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Motown Record Corporation
Copyright (c) – Motown Record Corporation
Recorded At – Crystal Sound
Mixed At – Crystal Sound