1981 Rufus – Party ‘Til You’re Broke

Party ‘Til You’re Broke is the ninth studio album by funk band Rufus, released on the MCA Records label in 1981. Party ‘Til You’re Broke which was the band’s second album not to be fronted by Chaka Khan reached #24 on Billboard’s R&B Albums chart and #73 on Pop and included the singles “Tonight We Love” (US R&B #18, US Dance #64) and “Hold on to a Friend” (US R&B #56), making Party ‘Til You’re Broke the most successful Khan-less album from Rufus.

Following Party ‘Til You’re Broke and Khan’s second solo album Naughty, which was released in 1980, Rufus reunited with Khan again in 1981 for the recording of Camouflage which was to be their final full-length studio album together.


1  Tonight We Love (David Wolinski) 4:32
2  Hold On To A Friend (Bessie Poindexter; LaLomie Washburn) 3:16
3  Love Is Taking Over (Gavin Christopher) 4:08
4  Secret Love (Bessie Poindexter; David Batteau) 3:48
5  Party ‘Til You’re Broke (Bessie Poindexter; David Wolinski) 3:38
6  Can I Show You (Danny Seraphine; David Wolinski) 5:12
7  You’re Made For Me (Bessie Poindexter; David Wolinski) 3:33
8  What Is It (David Wolinski) 4:22
9  We Got The Way (Angela Winbush; Bobby Watson; Rene Moore) 3:45
10  Afterwards (Bessie Poindexter; David Wolinski) 3:14



BassBobby Watson
DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarTony Maiden
KeyboardsDavid Wolinski
KeyboardsKevin Murphy
SynthesizerDavid Wolinski
PercussionJR Robinson
Background VocalsAngela Winbush
Background VocalsGavin Christopher
Background VocalsLaLomie Washburn
Background VocalsMary Russell
Background VocalsRene Moore
VocalsDavid Wolinski
VocalsTony Maiden

Other Musicians

1 Tonight We Love

BassLouis Johnson

7 You’re Made For Me

BassLouis Johnson

10 Afterwards

BassLouis Johnson

Liner Notes

Producer – Rufus, John Stronach
Arranged By – Tony Maiden (Track 3)
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – Jerry Hey
Arranged By (Horns) – Doug Norwine, Mark Hatch (Tracks 4, 5, 10)
Arranged By (Vocal Arrangements) – Tony Maiden
Engineer – John Stronach, Ron Alvare
Engineer (Additional) – Jeremy Smith
Mixed By – John Stronach, Ron Alvare

Art Direction – George Osaki
Design – Gribbitt!, Stephen Lumel
Illustration – Joe Spencer
Photography By – Gribbitt!, Scott Hensel

Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – MCA Records, Inc.
Pressed By – MCA Pressing Plant, Gloversville